LibGuides: Film & Television: Articles and eResources

What are the eResources?

Search these eResources (databases) to locate journal articles and other useful material for your studies.

Most provide an abstract summarising what the article is about - use this to see if you want to read the full text.
You will get the full text online for most results. If full text is not available, click on to check the library catalogue for access via a different source.
If it is not available from another source, use the link on the Library Catalogue to request the article as an Inter Library Loan (please see Inter Library Loans for guidance and allowances)

Some resources in the list will provide access to other content such as standards, ebooks, market research and multimedia resources.

For TV recordings back to 2008, scroll down to BoB National.

Journal articles

Broadcast
- This link opens in a new window
Key magazine for the broadcast industry

Screen Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Search a comprehensive range of publications related to film alongside detailed filmographies. This collection includes the FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and both the AFI Catalog and Film Index International.
Login off campus: enter your university email address and password.
Help guide
Help video
Performing Arts Periodicals Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Access 160 full text journals covering dance, drama, stagecraft, comedy, film, and television (with indexes and abstracts available for a further 200+ journals).
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Help guide
Help video
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
One of the largest single periodical resources available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to 2800+ full text journals spanning more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences (or select to view reference details of further items covered by JSTOR). The most recent 1-5 years are not usually available. Also includes access to the Primary Source Collections which include 19th Century British Pamphlets, created by Research Libraries UK (RLUK), containing the most significant British pamphlets from the 19th century held in research libraries in the United Kingdom.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Help guide

See the A-Z Databases: Film list for a full overview of eResources for this subject.

Newspapers & magazines

European Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full text news content from both the UK and Europe including UK broadsheets, tabloids and regional presses. More extensive international content can be accessed via International Newsstream and content specifically relating to North America can be accessed via US Newsstream listed under 'I' and 'U' from the tabs above.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Help video
Help guide
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Archival research resource of US and UK magazines providing access to primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Help guide
Help video

For a full list of newspaper resources (including access to historical newspapers) please see the A-Z list of news resources.

TV & radio programmes

BoB National This link opens in a new window
Provides access to recorded TV and radio broadcasts to all the major channels.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Help guide

Audio Visual resources

Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
Access feature-length theatre productions, interviews with actors, directors and creatives and exclusive behind-the-scenes content, plus study guides.
Login:
- Enter your University email address and click Next.
- Enter Solent University as the Identity Provider Name and click on the link.
- Enter your University email address and password.
Please note, you will need to set up multi-factor authentication BEFORE using this resource. View how to set-up multi-factor authentication in a new tab. If you are having problems setting up your multi-factor authentication, please contact the Guided Learning Centre in a new tab.
Help guide Video support for students
Drama Online This link opens in a new window
Access performances, plays and supporting materials including live stage performances at the Globe Theatre (Globe on Screen), audio plays, scholarly works providing contextual and critical background plus practical guides.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Help videos
National Theatre Collection
Drawing on 10 years of National Theatre Live broadcasts, alongside high-quality recordings never previously seen outside of the NT’s Archive, the collection includes 30 films including Comedies, 20th Century Classics and Modern Plays, Shakespeare plays, Literary adaptations, Greek Classics and World Historical Drama. Please note, this does not include access to the National Theatre Collection 2.
Login: enter your University email address and password.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a search engine that allows you to search for more academic content on the web. You can use it to track down journal articles, book details and more. You can set it up to show you which results you can access via a Solent University library subscription.

Link to full text content from Solent University Library
This will tell you if the Library has a copy of the article for you to read or not. To set this up on your device:

In Scholar, click on the icon in the top left corner:
Select Settings and then select 'Library Links'. Enter 'Solent' in the search box then select Solent University - Is it @ Solent and Save.
Any results available via Solent will now show this link to give you access:
OFF CAMPUS: You must check the access information for each article via the Is It @ Solent screens and login to view.

Send reference details to RefWorks

Set up a link to 'Import into RefWorks' for each result in your list. To set this up, go into the menu icon menu, select Settings and in the 'Bibliography Manager' section, select RefWorks and save.

Basic and Advanced search
Enter your search terms into the Basic search box. If you want more control over your search, you can access the Advanced search via the icon.

Results list
Your results list will include a number of options for each result where you can view other items that might be of interest, mark the item to read later and send the reference to RefWorks etc.

import to refworks button on ribbon in word.

Select the to add the article to your 'My library'.
Cited by: links you to other resources which have referenced (cited) that document.
Related articles: see a list of other articles you may be interested in.
Import into RefWorks: send the reference details into RefWorks (or use the option under the to send to RefWorks).

Film & Television

What are the eResources?

Journal articles

Newspapers & magazines

TV & radio programmes

Audio Visual resources

Google Scholar

Link to full text content from Solent University Library This will tell you if the Library has a copy of the article for you to read or not. To set this up on your device:

Send reference details to RefWorks

Basic and Advanced search Enter your search terms into the Basic search box. If you want more control over your search, you can access the Advanced search via the icon.

Results list Your results list will include a number of options for each result where you can view other items that might be of interest, mark the item to read later and send the reference to RefWorks etc.

My Library Sign in and access articles you have saved. Save articles by clicking on the star icon beside it in the results list.

Link to full text content from Solent University Library
This will tell you if the Library has a copy of the article for you to read or not. To set this up on your device:

Basic and Advanced search
Enter your search terms into the Basic search box. If you want more control over your search, you can access the Advanced search via the icon.

Results list
Your results list will include a number of options for each result where you can view other items that might be of interest, mark the item to read later and send the reference to RefWorks etc.

My Library
Sign in and access articles you have saved. Save articles by clicking on the star icon beside it in the results list.