LibGuides: Law: Databases (eResources)

What are eResources?

Databases (or eResources) provide access to quality academic resources for your work eResources are electronic information resources which can be accessed online and searched by topic, so you can quickly and easily find relevant information.

.Most provide an abstract summarising what the article is about - use this to see if you want to read the full text.
You will get the full text online for most results. If full text is not available, click on Is it @ Solent? to check the library catalogue for access via a different source.
If it is not available from another source, use the link on the Library Catalogue to request the article as an Inter Library Loan (please see Inter Library Loans for guidance and allowances)

Legal eResources such as Westlaw and LexisLibrary provide access to UK and EU case law and legislation, scholarly journal articles, encyclopedias, dictionaries, international materials and much more.

Used by all major law firms, they are constantly updated and our Solent Library subscription therefore allows you access to the latest high-quality legal information 24/7.

Westlaw

Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Access a wide range of legal materials including UK cases and updated legislation, legal journals, books and dictionaries.
Login: Enter your university email address and password. Users must enter their details the first time they use Westlaw after logging in. This creates a separate Westlaw account so you can use the personalisation features of the site.
An Introduction to Westlaw UK
Solent's Help video

Used by legal professionals, this key resource also contains Westlaw Insight, a legal encyclopedia, which is great for starting your research, as well as EU materials, UK regulatory and guidance materials, international materials, practitioner books and a current awareness service.

Great for your CV and proves you can search this resource effectively.

Simply complete the online tutorial, answer the questions and receive your certificate in the post.

Advanced certification is also available.

Get Certified in Westlaw UK

Please ensure you log into SOL in order to view this video: https://learn.solent.ac.uk/

Please ensure you log into SOL in order to view these videos: https://learn.solent.ac.uk/

Select and view the UK Westlaw Training - find Legislation link to view their video which provides an overview of finding and using legislation on Westlaw UK.

The legislation section now includes regulatory and guidance materials which you may also find useful.

Select the text below to watch the short video on using Westlaw International Materials

Westlaw International Materials

For more information, see Westlaw's International Materials User Guides

Lexis+ UK

Lexis+ UK This link opens in a new window
Access UK cases, legislation and legal journals as well as national and regional newspapers and legal materials from countries across the world. Includes both Lexis PSL with practical guidance written by solicitors and barristers on legal topics as well as forms, checklists and precedents, and content from Lexis Accountancy Lite including Tolley's Tax Handbooks Series, the Yellow and Orange Tax Guides, Simon's Taxes, Tax Journal, and the Finance Acts.
Login: enter your University email address and password
Lexis+ Help guide and short videos

Used by legal professionals, this key resource also contains the Halsbury's Laws of England encyclopedia which is great for starting your research and very authoritative.

It also includes a glossary, practitioner works and a current awareness service.

Great for your CV and proves you can search this resource effectively.

Complete the basic and/or advanced questions online:

Get Certified in Lexis+ UK

Lexis+ UK YouTube overview video

Lexis+ UK YouTube advanced video

Practical Guidance: This content was previously available via the Lexis PSL Platform

Practical Guidance is now fully integrated with Legal Research on Lexis+, so you can see guidance and the underlying law it supports all in one place.

It includes practice notes, precedents, forms, drafting notes, checklists, flowcharts, client-ready materials and the latest legal developments, arranged by topic. This online legal know-how services complements the materials available via the Legal Research service and links through to accompanying commentary and primary law.

Hall and Stott Law Ebooks

Hall and Stott Law Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive and accessible key textbooks in law.
Login: enter your University email address and password.

HeinOnline (Law Journal Library) This link opens in a new window
Find legal journal articles from a wide range of international publications.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Help guide

Contains more than 2,000 law and law-related periodicals from the first published issue.

You can download the mobile app too!

For video help, view HeinOnline's guidance via:

YouTube channel

Other help materials include:

i-law - Maritime legal materials

This is a great place to start researching maritime law!

Within the Maritime & Commercial section you can access:

key maritime books and looseleafs electronically such as The Ratification of Maritime Conventions
full archive of the Lloyds Law Reports, the specialist series for shipping cases (also available in the Law Library)
full-text articles from leading maritime journals: Lloyd's Maritime and Commercial Law Quarterly, Lloyd's Maritime Law Newsletter, Maritime Risk International and Shipping & Trade Law

i-law This link opens in a new window
Maritime legal materials including key reference books and journals and cases from the Lloyds Law Reports.
Login: you are required to create an account.
Create your account in a new tab (you must log into Solent Online Learning and enrol on the passwords page and follow the instructions provided).
Solent's Help video
i-law's Maritime guide

Please ensure you log into SOL in order to view this video: https://learn.solent.ac.uk/

Try out other sources for maritime law via the Maritime Legal Topics guide

Newspapers

For current articles:

European Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full text news content from both the UK and Europe including UK broadsheets, tabloids and regional presses. More extensive international content can be accessed via International Newsstream and content specifically relating to North America can be accessed via US Newsstream listed under 'I' and 'U' from the tabs above.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Help video
Help guide

For historical materials:

Gale Newsvault This link opens in a new window
Search The Times Digital Archive, The Financial Times Historical Archive, The 17th and 18th Century Burney Newspaper Collection and 19th Century British Newspapers.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Use the Help option for further information.

You can also take a look at the libguide for News and Newspapers

Statistics

Statista This link opens in a new window
A portal providing access to over one million statistics, facts, forecasts, dossiers, reports and infographics. Please note we do not have access to the Global Survey as this is a separate product and is not included in our subscription.
Login: enter your University email address and password
Help video

You may also want to consult:

Statistics at Home Office - includes crime/policing and more
Crime Survey for England and Wales- published by the Office for National Statistics.
(previously known as the British Crime Survey- now archived)
Statistics at Ministry of Justice - publications on criminal justice, prison/probation, youth justice and more.

LinkedIn Learning

LinkedIn Learning is part of the LinkedIn network. It is a website packed full of videos, tutorials and fully-curated courses taught by recognised industry experts offering high-quality instructional videos across a broad range of topics.

You must be logged in to LinkedIn Learning via SOL to view this course.

To login:

Login to Solent Online Learning in a new tab.
Then use this link to authenticate.
Then you can search or browse for courses.

TV and radio

BoB National This link opens in a new window
Provides access to recorded TV and radio broadcasts to all the major channels.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Help guide

Social Science Indices

IBSS: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
Includes over three million bibliographic references to journal articles and books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951.
Login off campus: enter your university email address and password

Other useful eResources

English Reports (1220-1867) and Statutes of the Realm (1235-1713) This link opens in a new window
Full text access to cases in this series along with additional pre-1865 reports and statutes.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Help guide

Databases (eResources): Test your knowledge?

Guided Learning Activity