Skip to Main Content

Solent Researchers

Library support for staff and students

Finding Information - Introduction

The Library offers various tools to help you with your research.

Online help is available in in the succeed@solent guide to literature reviews.

Your subject area

Subject Guides contain relevant information for research interests 

  

Books

Researchers can borrow 25 books at a time from the library. Inter-library loan requests can be placed for books not held in the collection.  Researchers and staff are entitled to an unlimited number of inter-library loan requests.  

Additional Libraries ​available to researchers: 

  • Sconul Access  A scheme whereby university library users can use books and journals held in other university collections.  You need to register here first. 

  • Learned Societies.  These may require a letter of recommendation before access is granted.  Contact your information librarian if this is needed.

National Library Collections

Check the online catalogues of the

​

Local Libraries 

As a student in Southampton you are entitled to join the local public libraries:

Journal Articles

Use the Subject Guide for your research area to find the best databases and resourcesfor your needs.  If you need help accessing the information or searching them, contact your information librarian.   

The databases below are non-subject specific and will be of use to all disciplines  

Inter-Library Loans

Inter-Library Loans

If there's a book or journal article you need which is not available in our collections, we will try to get it for you from another library.  Journal articles will in most cases be emailed to you within a few days.  Books will take longer as they are posted.  The service is freely available to all academic staff, postgraduate and research students.  

Inter-library Loans

Masters students may request up to 30 inter-library loan requests per year. There is no limit to the number of requests for PhD students and academic staff.

Citation Tracking Tools

Citation tracking tools

Citation tracking involves exploring who is citing who in published research. A large number of citations for a particular paper suggests that the paper has been highly influential. An author with a large number of citations to their papers is likely to be a leading scholar in their subject area.

Conducting Your Research

Subject guides  list the key information and resources for broad subject areas

 

Citation Tracking Tools

Citation tracking involves exploring who is citing who in published research. A large number of citations for a particular paper suggests that the paper has been highly influential. An author with a large number of citations to their papers is likely to be a leading scholar in their subject area.  The following databases (eResources) have citation tracking capabilities 

  • Web of Science
  • Proquest databases
  • Google Scholar

 

Referencing and referencing software

 

  • Referencing: the Harvard Way provides a quick guide for referencing to Solent's standard 
  • succeed@research in Solent Online Learning gives further examples of references. 
  • RefWorks  is a tool for managing references and is fully supported by the Library.  It allows you to switch between styles according to need.
Research Data Management

 

 

 
 
 
 

  Watch the video on the importance of RDM, the processes by which you create, organise, store and make available the data produced in  the course of your research.