Skip to main content

Hello Library

A basic guide for new users to the library.

What are the eResources?

Search these eResources (databases) to locate journal articles and other useful material for your studies.

  • Most will provide an abstract for the article to sum up what it is about - use this to see if you want to read the full text. 
  • You will get the full text online for most results. If full text is not available, please click on  where you see it as this will check the library catalogue for access via a different source.

Some resources in the list will provide access to other content such as standards, ebooks, market research and multimedia resources. 

For TV recordings back to 2008, scroll down to BoB National.

Find ARTICLES via the Articles search

Searching

Select the 'Articles' option in the drop-down menu by the search box.

To find a specific item: search by author surname and a few keywords from the article title.

To find all articles on a topic: search using a few, relevant topic keywords (you can adapt your search to add in more terms or use fewer/more general terms etc as needed depending on the results you get):

 


Peer-reviewed

You can narrow your results list down to quality, peer reviewed articles by clicking on Peer-reviewed journals:


Access full text of articles

Access the full text by clicking on an article title - this will list all the providers we subscribe to who offer access to the article.  If you are off campus, note the OFF CAMPUS access instructions you need to follow:

    

LinkedIn Learning

What is LinkedIn Learning?

LinkedIn Learning,  previously known as Lynda.com, provides High quality training videos covering subjects such as  technology, business,music, social media, creativity and loads more. All free for you to use on and off campus. 

BoB/Learning on Screen

A-Z list of databases

Solent Library pay for access to a wide range of databases for you to use. 

Here is an alphabetical list of all the databases Solent Library with a brief description of content along with access information. 

 

A - Z list of databases