Skip to Main Content

Sport Management

Websites and Google

Latest

British Association for Sustainable Sport 

General

Office for National Statistics - Population Statistics

Discrimination in Sport Commons Library Briefing pack

Racism in Sport Commons Library Briefing pack

The England DNA: the playing and coaching philosophy of England teams

Active Lives Online - Sport England's tool for measuring sport and activity across the country.  

Adventure Activities Licensing- part of the Health & Safety Executive (HSE) website for activities outdoors

British Association of Sport and Exercise Sciences 

Deloitte Football Money League - also available in print in the library

www.gssiweb.com -Gatorade Sports Science Institute –  provides many articles and papers on a range of sport science topics.

FIFA Journal  -Journal of FIFA - articles to read 

(ICIMSPA) Chartered Institute for the Management of Sport and Activity-  professional body for sport, parks and leisure professionals

ExRx.net (Exercise Prescription on the Internet) is a free resource for the exercise professional, coach, or fitness enthusiast featuring comprehensive Exercise Library (>1600 exercises), fitness assessment calculators, and reference articles

 

SIRC -  Sport Information Resource Centre, has been the leading and most trusted source to learn, share and support Canada’s sport community for over 40 years. 

Sport Science -  peer-reviewed journal and site for sport research

WADA  - Contains link to the full report issued on the 9th November 2015 

 

Sports Participation UK 

Dept. for Culture Media & Sport (DCMS) Research and Statistics  Includes 'Taking Part', The national survey of culture, leisure and sport in England & Wales, the London Olympics 2012 meta evaluation and other statistics relevant to tourism and leisure.

Sport England - provides a wealth of research and statistics on sport in England including: active people survey; understanding participation; economic value of sport; evaluating impact; culture and sport evidence.

Sport Scotland -  large number of reports about sports participation. 

Sport Wales - reports and strategy documents 

Better Googiing

Google Scholar
Googling

Google Scholar can be great for finding articles, pre-published papers and more, but do check the quality of the sources you've found.  By clicking on the "  (quote marks) at the end of each retrieved record you can export directly to RefWorks.  Go into settings and set the library links to show items held at Solent.  You may be better using the advanced search feature, found under Settings.

Search Tips for Google 

Searching Google to get the best results is not as straight-forward as you may believe.  There are some tips you can use to improve the results.  Look through all the results - the top one might not be the best for your research although Google will try to give you the most relevant one first there are many other factors to be taken into account.  See Google's help pages.

Google Scholar does not allow you to filter to see peer reviewed articles only. You can visit the home page of journal (by googling it) to see if it is peer reviewed.  If the article is available in Solent Library, you could also check there.   A good indicator of quality is the cited by link - the other researchers that have actually used the research in their research.

Google Scholar does show how often an item has been cited (used) by other researchers.  This can be an indicator of quality (although they could all be criticising it!).  In a sense it's a more powerful indicator of value as people have found it useful.  Also bear in mind that the newer the article is the less opportunity it has had to appear in other's research.  You can see the cited articles and  check if they add to your research.

Boolean ( AND, OR, NOT)

AND Google assumes you are connecting your terms with AND (so both words must be present) this is common to most databases/eResources.  Google does not do Boolean, so do not include the word AND or NOT as you would in searches on other eResources or databases.  It does do "OR".

OR  if you use OR it must be in capitals (this is good practice for most databases).  Connecting with OR means that either word needs to present – useful for synonmyns. 

Consider using the Advanced Search function - it will help you get the best results.

Some Google Tips and Tricks

Note the punctuation!

  •  Google ranks the first word higher than the second Solent University  returns different results to University Solent
  • " "  Searches for phrases "social distancing" searches for the exact phrase
  • - excludes words from your search "social distancing" -children  will exclude children from your search
  • Site: site:.ac.uk will find educational sites.  Note the punctuation
  • * Searches for missing words in a phrase - this is not the same use of a * in other databases where you use it to truncate a word
  • ... - use to find a range of numbers 
  • Allintext: searches for multiple words in text 
  • Allintitle: Limits your search  to words in the title - really useful to narrow done searches
  • Define: use to define a word define:biomechanics
  • Verbatim:  Use after a search - looks for all the words you have searched for.  Type in your search words, then click Tools, then select Verbatim from the All Results drop down
  • Use the date range to narrow results to a time frame.

 

Google Scholar Hacks

 

Watch the video to learn some additional ways of searching Google Scholar