A journal is a collection of articles, written by different people. A journal will focus on a topic or subject and the articles published within it all relate to that topic. They are published at regular intervals and can be a key source of research and academic information.
There are several different types of journal that you can access:
Academic/scholarly journals - these include research and are often peer reviewed (other experts in the field evaluate the article before it is accepted for publication to ensure quality is maintained).
Trade or professional magazines - aimed at people interested in or working in a particular area. Often include articles, reviews, features and news.
Journals are made up of articles, these are individual pieces of research written by an academic, professional or expert on a particular subject or topic. They are published together with other articles by other authors in a journal. However, they don’t go into as much detail as books.
The most relevant legal journal articles are included in our Databases |(eResources) e.g. Westlaw, LexisLibrary and the Law Journal Library, with i-law for maritime legal articles.
These Databases contain many fulltext articles but all have different content, so you are advised to search more than one. You can search for articles by topic/subject.
You will find that these Databases include some article abstracts (just a brief summary) and the full article may not be available for all of your results. Search for the title of the Journal (not the article!) on the Library Catalogue to see if we have a subscription. Some journals may be available in full on other Databases, or as printed journals in the Law Library.
For other journal articles, try the Articles tab on the Library Catalogue:
Enter your search terms
Refine your results using the Peer-reviewed Journals option from the left-hand menu (this then lists articles from the most scholarly journals)
Make use of the catalogue links within the record access the article; many of the records give one-click (more if you need to go through login) access through to articles.
Get PDF and Read Online links open the article directly – you may need to log into the database provider.
View Access Options link expands the catalogue record and displays the article's access details.
The links show like this in the catalogue:
The Articles tab is very general and you may get a lot of results which are not relevant.
Google Scholar is a search engine that allows you to search for more academic content on the web. You can use it to track down journal articles, book details and more. You can set it up to show you which results you can access via a Solent University library subscription.
Link to full text content from Solent University Library
This will tell you if the Library has a copy of the article for you to read or not. To set this up on your device:
OFF CAMPUS: You must check the access information for each article via the Is It @ Solent screens and login to view.
Set up a link to 'Import into RefWorks' for each result in your list. To set this up, go into the 
menu, select Settings and in the 'Bibliography Manager' section, select RefWorks and save.
Basic and Advanced search
Enter your search terms into the Basic search box. If you want more control over your search, you can access the Advanced search via the icon.
Your results list will include a number of options for each result where you can view other items that might be of interest, mark the item to read later and send the reference to RefWorks etc.
to add the article to your 'My library'.
to send to RefWorks).Sign in and access articles you have saved. Save articles by clicking on the star icon beside it in the results list.