Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Access Resources

Freely available academic resources

Art - Visual Arts

Open Textbook Library - Free access to textbooks on a range of subjects including The Arts

JSTOR - Free access to Art journals, books and images 

CORE offers access to nearly 900,000 visual arts research papers by aggregating all open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide.

Digital Commons Network  More than 22,000 full-text art and design peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings and more.

Beauty - Make up and Hair

Google Scholar provides Hair and Make Up journal articles, pre-published papers and more. To link to Solent University's holding go into settings and set the library links to show Solent.

DOAB - Directory of Open Access Books holds  a collection of Open access textbooks relating to the beauty industry

Construction and the Built Environment

DOAJ Directory of Open Access Journals is an online directory that indexes and provides access to over 2,800 open access, peer-reviewed journals covering a wide range of  subjects with a section on Building and Construction.

Open Grey Open access to 700.000 bibliographical references of grey literature (paper) produced in Europe and allows you to export records and locate the documents - including technical or research reports, doctoral dissertations, conference papers, official publications, and other types of grey literature.

DOAB  Directory of open access books covering most subjects with an area for construction engineering.

Design - Interior and Product design

OAPEN  Open access textbooks covering a range of subjects including design. 

Engineering

Air Accident Investigation Branch Reports from GOV.UK

IEEE Open provides access to IEEE’s open access journals spanning a wide range of technologies. 

IMarEST browse and download all the latest IMarEST produced guides, publications and reports from across the breadth of marine engineering, science and technology

Marine Accident Investigation Reports from GOV.UK

TechRxiv is an open moderated preprint server for unpublished research in electrical engineering, computer science, and related technology.  A preprint is a draft version of an article; final versions of published articles should not be submitted to TechRxiv.

The Institution of Engineering and Technology
The IET journals portfolio includes over 40 journals, covering a wide range of engineering and technology fields. The Open Access content from the IET journals is now accessible through the new IET Research hub page.

Environmental Sciences

British Geological Survey focuses on public-good science for government, and research to understand earth and environmental processes.

Environment Agency from GOV.UK

ATA.GOV.UK data published by central government, local authorities and public bodies to help you build products and services.

OECD Statistics PortalThe Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is a membership organization of 35 countries.

LSE Research online – the institutional repository for the London School of Economics and Political Science. It contains research produced by LSE staff, including journal articles, book chapters, books, working papers, conference papers and more.

Fashion

OAPEN  Open access textbooks, with a section on Fashion

Photography

DOAJ  Directory of Open Access Journals is an online directory that indexes and provides access to over 2,800 open access, peer-reviewed journals with a section on Photograpy

Music

The Open Music Library is a free index of digital resources for the study of music, and is the initiative of Alexander Street Press.  It brings together details of peer-reviewed journal articles, books and music scores from the world’s digital collections.  Some may be freely available for you to access (check library catalogue to see if the library holds material not freely available and use the inter library loan service as needed).