Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Access Resources

Freely available academic resources

Accounting, Finance and Economics

Open Textbook Library Free access to textbooks on accounting, economics and finance

arXiv An open access archive for articles relating to finance and qualitative finance

openstax Provides access to free online textbooks for business (which includes financial accounting)

International journal of financial studies Access to financial market, instruments, policy, and management research

OpenEd  Free access to a range of subject textbooks including business, finance and accounting

DOAB  Directory of open access books covering most subjects with an area for finance and accounting

Business Management

Open Grey Open access to 700.000 bibliographical references of grey literature (paper) produced in Europe

Open Textbook Library Free access to textbooks relevant in the business management field

Openstax  Access to free online textbooks for business 

MDPI  Open access journals covering a range of subjects including business and management

OpenEd Open access books and articles covering a range of subjects including business and management

Computing

arXiv is an open access archive for articles relating to computer science, mathematics, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics and more.

Open Textbook Library gives free access to textbooks on computer science and information systems.

TechRxiv (powered by IEEE) is an open, moderated preprint server for unpublished research in computer science, electrical engineering and related technology.

The Institution of Engineering and Technology
The IET journals portfolio includes over 40 journals, covering a wide range of engineering and technology fields. The Open Access content from the IET journals is now accessible through the new IET Research hub page.

Criminology

BMC Crime Science Journal Free access to resources improving the detection, prevention and understanding of crime and disorder

Sociology and Criminology journal  Free access to a wide range of law and criminology articles

JSTOR Open access articles and book chapters in criminology

English

Open Textbook Library  Includes access to literature, rhetoric and poetry resources 

Page by Page books Free access to hundreds of books including english literature

English Literature and Language Review Open access english articles

ReadPrint  Open access to plays, poetry, literature books and more

Standard Ebooks  Open access to classic english literature titles

Entrepreneurship

JEMI (Journal of Entrepreneurship, Management and Innovation) lots of articles in the entrepreneurship and business start up field

International Journal of Entrepreneurship  Free open access to articles in the field

OpenEd Open access textbooks on a range of subjects including entrepreneurship

Event and Festival Management

Event Manager Blog  Mostly free blog posts, newsletter items and articles which can be accessed without becoming a member

UK Hospitality Prompts to subscribe but lots of free access to articles, the newsletter and posts without having to subscribe

Film, TV and Media

IAMCR: Open Access Journals gives you access to open content from the IMACR (International Association for Media and Communication Research).

Open Textbook Library gives free access to textbooks on journalism, media studies and communications.

Human Resource Management

Open Textbook Library Covers a range of subjects including free textbooks in human resources 

International Journal of Human Resources Development and Management Access to free HR articles

Journalism

Open Textbook Library Free textbooks on journalism plus a range of other subject areas

Journal of Mass Communication & Journalism  Free access to journal articles

Media and Communication  Free open access journal articles within the journalism field

Law

Open Textbook Library  Free textbooks on law (other subjects areas also covered) 

UCL Press  Access to a range of subject area textbooks including a section for law

Open Book Publishers  Access to a range of subject textbooks including law

JSTOR Free access materials in a range of subjects including law

Maths

openstax provides access to free online textbooks for maths, plus other subjects such as science and business. 

Open Textbook Library also gives free access to maths textbooks.

Marketing and Advertising

Open textbook Library  Free access to marketing textbooks, plus a range of other subject areas

OpenED Covers a range of subjects with some textbooks on marketing

DOAJ Open access journal articles including those on marketing

Public Relations (PR)

BASE Academic search engine providing lots of open access in a range of subjects including PR 

Institute for Public Relations  Free open access PR journal

DOAJ Open access journal articles including those on public relations 

Tourism and Air Travel

UNWTO World Tourism Organization has free access to tourism books, journals and statistics 

Asia Pacific University of Technology and Innovation Library. Free open access material for tourism Research and Hospitality

Journal of Tourism Research Provides free open access  tourism articles

BASE Academic search engine with access to a range of  subject resources including air travel