Databases (or eResources) provide access to quality academic resources for your work. The Finding Information tab will take you through the stages to find information efficiently and effectively.
The databases have been subdivided into sections to reflect their content.
Full text database containing information on all aspects of sport science and coaching.
To Log in off campus, enter your university email address and password.
Covers all aspects off sports and sport science.
To Log in off campus, enter your university email address and password
400 full text titles covering psychological topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry, mental processes and experimental methods.
To Log in off campus, enter your university email address and password.
Access subscribed full text journals for subjects including computer science, engineering and technology, psychology, business, biomedical science and social science. Also includes full text access to the Referex collection of ebooks in engineering. Please note that book chapters in other subject areas may not be available in full text.
To Log in, enter your University email address and password.
Full text access to our subscribed journals in social sciences, sports sciences, tourism studies and more.
To Log in, enter your University email address and password.
Provides access to citation indexes covering over 8000 top academic journals, including all references in the social sciences and humanities as well as the sciences.
To Log in, enter your University email address and password.
Covers all aspects off sports and sport science.
To Log in off campus, enter your university email address and password
Educational policy, administration, evaluation and special educational needs.
To Log in, enter your University email address and password.
The Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) contains articles, books, papers, reports, dissertations and theses in the field of education research.
To Log in, enter your University email address and password.
Provides access to fully interactive 3D animations and models of the human body also includes clinical videos and texts.
To Log in, enter your University email address and password.
Open access publisher (part of Springer Nature) in the fields of biology, health and medicine.
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) database provides full text and abstract only access to content in the fields of nursing and related healthcare disciplines including occupational and physical therapy, nutrition, and dietetics.
To Log in, enter your University email address and password.
Covers full-text artiles on biomedicine, pre-clinical sciences, behavioral sciences, bioengineering, health policy development and life sciences.
To Log in, enter your University email address and password.
Free database of over 33,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
Major source for biomedical and health literature. There are some freely available full-text resources others may require you check other library sources, including Google Scholar for article availability
Clinical search engine for high-quality research evidence to support practice and/or care. Not all materials are freely accessible.
A collection of journals with articles on strategy, entrepreneurship, international business and emerging markets.
To Log in, enter your University email address and password.
Full text news content from both the UK and Europe including UK broadsheets, tabloids and regional presses. More extensive international content can be accessed via International Newsstream and content specifically relating to North America can be accessed via US Newsstream listed under 'I' and 'U' from the tabs above.
To Log in, enter your University email address and password.
Financial figures and graphs for major UK companies from their consolidated accounts and peer comparisons.
To Log in, enter your University email address and password.
Provides access to research briefings produced by the House of Commons Library, the House of Lords Library and the Parliamentary Office of Science and Technology (POST). You can filter the research briefings by date, type, or one of 350 topics.
Market research reports, trends and consumer data on a wide range of topics.
To Log in, choose Solent University. Enter your University email address and password.
Full-text academic journal articles, market research reports, trade publications, newspapers and e-books on a wide variety of topics.
To Log in off campus, enter your university email address and password.
A database providing access to over one million statistics, forecasts, dossiers, reports and infographics including data on business, technology, politics and society covering countries and regions around the world.
Please note the following:
Covers legal, financial and employment issues as well as market insights, synopses and trends for all types of business start-ups.
To Log in off campus, view login details in SOL. You must log in to SOL and enrol on the passwords page.
Scholarly research and industry news for hospitality, tourism, events and festivals.
To Log in off campus, enter your university username and password.
Pre-Print Server
The open access subject repository for Sport, Exercise, Performance, and Health research.
Grey literature is the term given to publications produced by government departments, charities, business, industries, etc in short anything that is not produced commercially. It is a great source of authoritative information on quite narrow areas of research. Be careful and apply the normal criteria in establishing the reliability of the publication before you use it.
Many of the databases/eResources also have grey literature included on them.
If the library does not have the article you need you can request an inter-library loan. A copy of the article will in most cases be emailed to you within a 2-3 working days. Books can also be requested via inter-library loan, but will take longer to arrive as they have to be posted.
If you need more, please contact me.