Skip to Main Content

Harvard Solent Referencing Guide

Creating a bibliography

A bibliography is used when you wish to include all the sources you’ve consulted as part of your research, not just the sources you have drawn on within your assignment (and which have an in-text citation to the source used).

If you just want to include a list of all the sources you have cited in your writing, please see the 'Reference lists' section.

Key points:

You compile a bibliography using the same approach as you would for a reference list:

  • The bibliography should be in alphabetical order of author name (that is the first author surname or first corporate author name as appropriate)
  • If you have used a source that needs to be referred to by title, the title is also the first entry in the bibliography.  The title is incorporated into the alphabetical order of the bibliography.
  • Every source you have provided an in-text citation for in your assignment must have one entry in the bibliography.  No matter how many times you have referred to the source in your assignment, it will only need one entry in the bibliography.
  • If you have more than one source by the same author, you need to list them in date order of publication with the oldest source listed first.
  • If an author has written alone and with others, the solo works are listed first followed by any joint works in alphabetical order by subsequent author name.
  • If an author has written more than one work in a year, you need to add a, b, c etc. after the year of publication in both the in-text citation and the full bibliography entry so they can be linked.

Example bibliography

  • ANHEIER, H.K. and Y.R. ISAR, 2012. Cities, cultural policy and governance. London: SAGE

  • BILLINGTON, M., 2008. ‘The main event’. Review of On the rocks, by D.H. Lawrence. Hampstead Theatre, London. The Guardian (Review section), 5 July, p. 19.

  • Britain’s secret charity cheats, series 2, episode 1, 2019 [TV].  iPlayer.  27 May

  • BUSCH, A., 2001. Unpacking the globalization debate: approaches, evidence and data. In: C. HAY and D. MARSH, eds. Demystifying globalization. New York: Palgrave, pp.21-48

  • CAVALCANTI, E.J.C., 2021. Energy, exergy and exergoenvironmental analyses on gas-diesel fuel marine engine used for trigeneration system. Applied thermal engineering, 184, article no: 116211 [no pagination]

  • COX, B., 2022. Where do you see space travel in another 70 years? [Facebook]. 15th February [viewed 07 June 2024]  Available from: https://www.facebook.com/ProfessorBrianCox

  • GOZGOR, G. et al., 2022. The Impact of Geopolitical Risks on Tourism Supply in Developing Economies: The Moderating Role of Social Globalization. Journal of travel research, 61(4), 872–886

  • JOHNS, R., 2014. Using the law in social work. 6th ed. London: Learning Matters

  • KOPPLIN, C.S., 2023. Sports fashion and sustainability: a perfect match? International journal of sports marketing & sponsorship, 24(5), 891–912

  • Macbeth, 1948 [film]. Directed by Orson WELLES. USA: Republic Pictures

  • MAJEED, M.T., T. LUNI and T. TAHIR, 2022. Growing green through biomass energy consumption: the role of natural resource and globalization in a world economy. Environmental science and pollution research international, 29(22), 33657–33673

  • OPENAI CHATGPT, 2023. ChatGPT response to Lesley Smith. Available from: https://chat.openai.com/share/c48aeafb-6040-476e-bc25-18121e4f74ca [accessed 2nd October]

  • OYEVAAR, M., D. VAZQUEZ BRUST and H. van BOMMEL, 2016. Globalization and sustainable development: a business perspective. London: Palgrave

  • PARTINGTON, R., 2021.  UK Christmas retail sales worse than expected [viewed 21st January 2021].  Available from: https://www.theguardian.com/business/2021/jan/22/uk-christmas-retail-sales-worse-than-expected-covid

  • SHAKESPEARE, W., 1968.  Henry V. Edited by A.R. HUMPHREYS.  London: Penguin

  • SMITH, A., 2007a. How to cite references. Southampton: Solent Publishing

  • SMITH, A., 2007b. Avoiding plagiarism. Southampton: Solent Publishing

  • SMITH-MAY, N., 2016. British woman can adopt girl found in box in Egypt, judge rules. [Twitter]. 29 November [viewed 14th November 2022].  Available from: https://twitter.com/guardian/status/803627951724068864 

 

A bibliography includes both the sources you have consulted but not cited, and those you have cited directly in your work. 

If you only want to include the sources you have cited directly in your work, this would be a reference list rather than a bibliography.

Please check with your lecturer as to whether they would prefer a reference list or bibliography.  Please see the 'Reference lists' section for guidance as needed.

Video guide to building your reference list

The Referencing video, which is also embedded below, introduces how to build your reference list in the Harvard Solent style, most of which can also be applied to building your bibliography:

We have also produced a written version of this guide using the script of the video which you can access below as a PDF: