LibGuides: Tourism and Air Travel: eResources

What are eResources?

database icon laptop and mobile phone eResources are electronic information resources which can be accessed online and searched by topic, so you can quickly and easily find relevant information.

eResources provide access to scholarly journal articles, company and industry information, statistics, market research, newspapers and more.

eResources are purchased by the Library to support you in your studies and allow 24/7 access to the latest high-quality information.

eResources for Tourism

For journal articles:

Emerald Tourism and Hospitality Management This link opens in a new window
A collection of journals with articles on diverse topics in tourism, hospitality and event management.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Use the filters on bottom right to restrict searches to only content I have access to. Many others titles are available on Emerald to which we do not subscribe.
Hospitality & Tourism Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research and industry news for hospitality, tourism, events and festivals.
Login off campus: enter your university username and password.
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
Full-text academic journal articles, market research reports, trade publications, newspapers and e-books on a wide variety of topics.
Login off campus: enter your university email address and password.
Help guide

For market research and statistics:

Mintel This link opens in a new window
Market research reports, trends and consumer data on a wide range of topics
Login: choose Solent University. Enter your University email address and password.
Help video
Help guide
Mintel's Top Tips and Interactive DataBook
Statista This link opens in a new window
A portal providing access to over one million statistics, facts, forecasts, dossiers, reports and infographics. Please note we do not have access to the Global Survey as this is a separate product and is not included in our subscription.
Login: enter your University email address and password
Help video

Advanced resources:

ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Access subscribed full text journals for subjects including computer science, engineering and technology, psychology, business, biomedical science and social science. Also includes full text access to the Referex collection of ebooks in engineering. Please note that book chapters in other subject areas may not be available in full text.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Help guide

Cruise Resources

Lloyds List
This is a well-respected journal and website for shipping news (including Cruise topics).
LOGIN: If you have already created an account, use the above link, click Go and enter your details.
FIRST TIME USERS: You must be ON CAMPUS to register. Create your account USING THIS LINK and follow the instructions. A non-university username and password is required to view this link, you must login to Solent Online Learning and enrol on the passwords page.

UNWTO

United Nations World Tourism Organisation
The World Tourism Organization (UNWTO) is the United Nations agency responsible for the promotion of responsible, sustainable and universally accessible tourism. It contains lots of really useful resources including news and key trends.

Have a look at their site and note these links:

Company / Industry information

COBRA: complete business reference adviser This link opens in a new window
Covers legal, financial and employment issues as well as market insights, synopses and trends for all types of business start-ups.
Login off campus: View login details in a new tab (you must log into Solent Online Learning and enrol on the passwords page).
FAME This link opens in a new window
Financial figures and graphs for major UK companies from their consolidated accounts and peer comparisons.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Solent help video
Retail Week This link opens in a new window
Business intelligence for the retail industry including strategic developments, customer trends, innovation and competitor activity.
Please note, you may need to access this resource from a personal or University network connection and/or device. Logins from an employer workplace connection or device may be blocked due to firewall restrictions.
Login: you are required to create an account.
Create your account in a new tab (you must log into Solent Online Learning and enrol on the passwords page and follow the instructions provided).
Help guide
WARC This link opens in a new window
Articles, case studies, research reports, campaigns, awards and company profiles within marketing and advertising.
Login: enter your university email address and password.
Help guide use the User Guide for Universities link
Search tips
Basic Contents
XpertHR (Brightmine HR & Compliance Centre) This link opens in a new window
Practical advice, case studies and journal articles on all aspects of human resource management..
Login:
1. Scroll down and click on Solent University from the drop-down list.
2. Click on Select.
3. Enter your University email address and password.
Help video
Help guide

BoB/Learning on Screen

BoB National This link opens in a new window
Provides access to recorded TV and radio broadcasts to all the major channels.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Help guide

LinkedIn Learning

LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
High-quality instructional videos across a broad range of topics.
Login: select the Solent University SAML-DEV option (recommended for Solent University) and enter your University email address and password. Please note: You might need to set up multi-factor authentication to use this resource.

Dissertations and Theses

Undergraduate and Masters projects

If you wish to access good practice examples of final year projects, dissertations or Masters theses please contact your lecturer.

Doctoral theses

Ethos - Electronic Theses Online Service This link opens in a new window
British Library service which allows you to search and download theses from participating Universities free of charge.
Login: registration is required to download theses