eResources are electronic information resources which can be accessed online and searched by topic, so you can quickly and easily find relevant information.
eResources provide access to scholarly journal articles, company and industry information, statistics, market research, newspapers and more.
eResources are purchased by the Library to support you in your studies and allow 24/7 access to the latest high-quality information.
This is a key resource you should be using:
Full-text academic journal articles, market research reports, trade publications, newspapers and e-books on a wide variety of topics.
To Log in off campus, enter your university email address and password.
Use this to find more journal articles:
A collection of journals with articles on strategy, entrepreneurship, international business and emerging markets.
To Log in, enter your University email address and password.
CMI Management Direct 
Provides a wealth of information for any management assignments: definitions, theories, models, ebooks, book chapters, journal articles, best practice checklists, competencies, CMI research and much more...
You can only use this resource if you are registered on an accredited CMI unit and have a login.
Business Source Corporate 
Access key journal articles, including those from the Harvard Business Review, along with company and industry reports. You must already be logged into CMI Management Direct.
Use the Browse options on the homepage to explore SWOT Analyses and Company Profiles.
Try an Advanced Search which allows you to look for words in the title of a document.
Use Refine Results to limit your results to scholarly journals, countries, companies/industries.
Market research reports, trends and consumer data on a wide range of topics.
To Log in, choose Solent University. Enter your University email address and password.
A database providing access to over one million statistics, forecasts, dossiers, reports and infographics including data on business, technology, politics and society covering countries and regions around the world.
Please note the following:
Covers legal, financial and employment issues as well as market insights, synopses and trends for all types of business start-ups.
To Log in off campus, view login details in SOL. You must log in to SOL and enrol on the passwords page.
Financial figures and graphs for major UK companies from their consolidated accounts and peer comparisons.
To Log in, enter your University email address and password.
Business intelligence for the retail industry including strategic developments, customer trends, innovation and competitor activity. Please note, you may need to access this resource from a personal or University network connection and/or device. Logins from an employer workplace connection or device may be blocked due to firewall restrictions.
To Log in, you are required to create an account. Create your account in SOL. You must log in to Solent Online Learning and enrol on the passwords page.
Articles, case studies, research reports, campaigns, awards and company profiles within marketing and advertising.
To Log in, enter your university email address and password.
Practical advice, case studies and journal articles on all aspects of human resource management.
To Log in, scroll down and click on Solent University from the drop-down list. Click on Select. Enter your University email address and password.
Access subscribed full text journals for subjects including computer science, engineering and technology, psychology, business, biomedical science and social science. Also includes full text access to the Referex collection of ebooks in engineering. Please note that book chapters in other subject areas may not be available in full text.
To Log in, enter your University email address and password.
Provides access to recorded TV and radio broadcasts to all the major channels.
To Log in, enter your University email address and password.
High-quality instructional videos across a broad range of topics.
To Log in, select the Solent University SAML-DEV option (recommended for Solent University) and enter your University email address and password. Please note: You might need to set up multi-factor authentication to use this resource.
Scholarly research and industry news for hospitality, tourism, events and festivals.
To Log in off campus, enter your university username and password.
Google Searching TipsType site: plus the site domain you want to search and then your keywords
So, if you want to find out about employability for graduates try:
It really works!!
Google Scholar Search TipsGoogle Scholar is a search engine that allows you to search for more academic content on the web. You can use it to track down journal articles, book details and more. You can set it up to show you which results you can access via a Solent University library subscription.
Set up a link to 'Import into RefWorks' for each result in your list. To set this up, go into the 
menu icon, select Settings and in the 'Bibliography Manager' section, select RefWorks and save.
menu icon.
to add the article to your 'My library'.
to send to RefWorks).Some eResources just provide citation details and an abstract (a short summary) rather than the full article. You can use the abstract to decide if the full text is worth reading.
If you want to read the full text and it is not available:
to see if the article is available anywhere else in the Library
Restrict your searches to Full Text using the options provided
Set up Google Scholar library links (see Google Scholar tab).
Sometimes you will get quite a few results and you will need to pick out the most relevant.
Getting too many or too few results? Watch Simple Searching to find out how you can improve:
This is an introduction to TGI Snapshot from Johnston Business Library in Canada. The data set demonstrated is Canadian. Solent's subscription offers access to UK data only.
Our chat service is available 24/7 so no matter when you contact us there will always be a librarian on hand to help. During library staffed opening hours we provide a locally staffed service, where you will chat to a member of Solent Library.
During evenings, weekends, and bank holidays or University closure periods, your chat may be directed to our staffed "out of hours services" in another university library which may be located anywhere in the world. If they are unable to answer your question directly they will be able refer it back to Solent library staff who will be able to respond by email accordingly.
