eResources are electronic information resources which can be accessed online and searched by topic, so you can quickly and easily find relevant information.
eResources provide access to scholarly journal articles, company and industry information, statistics, market research, newspapers and more.
eResources are purchased by the Library to support you in your studies and allow 24/7 access to the latest high-quality information.
This is a key resource you should be using:
Full-text academic journal articles, market research reports, trade publications, newspapers and e-books on a wide variety of topics.
To Log in off campus, enter your university email address and password.
Articles, case studies, research reports, campaigns, awards and company profiles within marketing and advertising.
To Log in, enter your university email address and password.
Market research reports, trends and consumer data on a wide range of topics.
To Log in, choose Solent University. Enter your University email address and password.
A collection of journals with articles on strategy, entrepreneurship, international business and emerging markets.
To Log in, enter your University email address and password.
Guide to all types of advertising media including rates, circulation and audience reach.
To Log in, you are required to create an account. Create your account in SOL. You must log in to Solent Online Learning and enrol on the passwords page.
Full text news content from both the UK and Europe including UK broadsheets, tabloids and regional presses. More extensive international content can be accessed via International Newsstream and content specifically relating to North America can be accessed via US Newsstream listed under 'I' and 'U' from the tabs above.
To Log in, enter your University email address and password.
Search The Times Digital Archive, The Financial Times Historical Archive, The 17th and 18th Century Burney Newspaper Collection and 19th Century British Newspapers.
To Log in, enter your University email address and password.
Market data gathered by consumer surveys - explore brand use, attitudes, motivations and demographics. Please note, you may need to access this resource from a personal or University network connection and/or device. Logins from an employer workplace connection or device may be blocked due to firewall restrictions.
To Log in, enter your University email address and password.
Please note, you will need to set up multi-factor authentication before using this resource. If you are having problems setting up your multi-factor authentication, please contact the Guided Learning Centre.
A database providing access to over one million statistics, forecasts, dossiers, reports and infographics including data on business, technology, politics and society covering countries and regions around the world. Please note, Southampton Solent Library does not have access to the E-Commerce Insights module.
To Log in: enter your University email address and password.
Please note:
Business intelligence for the retail industry including strategic developments, customer trends, innovation and competitor activity. Please note, you may need to access this resource from a personal or University network connection and/or device. Logins from an employer workplace connection or device may be blocked due to firewall restrictions.
To Log in, you are required to create an account. Create your account in SOL. You must log in to Solent Online Learning and enrol on the passwords page.
Covers legal, financial and employment issues as well as market insights, synopses and trends for all types of business start-ups.
To Log in off campus, view login details in SOL. You must log in to SOL and enrol on the passwords page.
Financial figures and graphs for major UK companies from their consolidated accounts and peer comparisons.
To Log in, enter your University email address and password.
Business intelligence for the retail industry including strategic developments, customer trends, innovation and competitor activity. Please note, you may need to access this resource from a personal or University network connection and/or device. Logins from an employer workplace connection or device may be blocked due to firewall restrictions.
To Log in, you are required to create an account. Create your account in SOL. You must log in to Solent Online Learning and enrol on the passwords page.
Try using SPORTDiscus for sports and sports science journals.
For more information about sport resources generally, rather than those relating specifically to marketing, see the Football, Sport & exercise Science and Sport & exercise psychology guides.
Full text database containing information on all aspects of sport science and coaching.
To Log in, enter your University email address and password.
Access subscribed full text journals for subjects including computer science, engineering and technology, psychology, business, biomedical science and social science. Also includes full text access to the Referex collection of ebooks in engineering. Please note that book chapters in other subject areas may not be available in full text.
To Log in, enter your University email address and password.
Provides access to recorded TV and radio broadcasts to all the major channels.
To Log in, enter your University email address and password.
High-quality instructional videos across a broad range of topics.
To Log in, select the Solent University SAML-DEV option (recommended for Solent University) and enter your University email address and password. Please note: You might need to set up multi-factor authentication to use this resource.
Google Searching TipsType site: plus the site domain you want to search and then your keywords
So, if you want to find out about employability for graduates try:
It really works!!
Google Scholar Search TipsGoogle Scholar is a search engine that allows you to search for more academic content on the web. You can use it to track down journal articles, book details and more. You can set it up to show you which results you can access via a Solent University library subscription.
Set up a link to 'Import into RefWorks' for each result in your list. To set this up, go into the 
menu icon, select Settings and in the 'Bibliography Manager' section, select RefWorks and save.
menu icon.
to add the article to your 'My library'.
to send to RefWorks).Some eResources just provide citation details and an abstract (a short summary) rather than the full article. You can use the abstract to decide if the full text is worth reading.
If you want to read the full text and it is not available:
to see if the article is available anywhere else in the Library
Restrict your searches to Full Text using the options provided
Set up Google Scholar library links (see Google Scholar tab).
Sometimes you will get quite a few results and you will need to pick out the most relevant.
Getting too many or too few results? Watch Simple Searching to find out how you can improve:
Retail Week is an online database which provides the latest information on high street business and retail. You will find up-to-date retail news, sector information, research reports, and analysis. It includes discussion of business activities, employees, stores, branding, e-commerce, and other strategies.
By using tabs you can find information on:
Sectors. The latest news, analysis, data, and video on the retail sectors including grocery, fashion, department stores, home & DIY, electricals, health & beauty, general merchandise, entertainment, and sports & leisure.
Topics. The latest news, analysis, data, and video on topics including technology, supply chain, finance, policy & legal, international, customer, people, and marketing.
Companies. This provides an A to Z list of companies with in-depth news and analysis on many high street and online stores.
Data. This includes a series of interactive graphs with explanations and analysis which track retail data, retail rankings, and a variety of infographics.
The Data Tab includes a series of really useful interactive graphs, commentary, and analysis, which can be downloaded and used in assignments. You can find the methodology for each graph at the bottom of every page.
Footfall Index. A weekly index and analysis of footfall for the high street, retail parks, and shopping centres.
Online Footfall Index. A monthly index of online traffic by sector, including department stores and online sellers such as Amazon, ebay, and Argos.
Sales Tracker. A chart of the most recent two weeks of sales from 70 mid-market retailers with 10,000 individual stores grouped by lifestyle, fashion, homeware, and non-store.
Etail Sales Tracker. A chart and supporting analysis containing five years of online retail sales from UK-based websites.
Cost Base Index. A quarterly chart of operating costs faced by retailers covering labour, rent, distribution and fuel, rates, advertising, and utilities.
Fashion Monitor. Tracks public perception of selected retailers focusing on purchase consideration, quality, and value.
WARC is an online resource which covers advertising best practice along with evidence and insights from the world's leading brands. It contains the latest news, journal articles, company profiles, trend reports, and case studies from more than 50 leading content sources worldwide across all aspects of marketing communications and advertising.
WARC holds content from industry leaders such as Admap, Market LEader, Journal of Advertising Research, and the International Journal of Market Research.
It also contains over 100 in-depth Topi pages, arranged across 11 themes, including brand analysis, branding & design, and creative approaches. Information is available on a wide variety of industry sectors such as: clothing & accessories, leisure & entertainment, retail, and technology & electronics.
There is also international information from over 100 different countries.
A great place to begin exploring - includes insightful reports and articles along with news items on 70 key marketing topics such as Brand Analysis, Social Media, Shopper Insight, and Luxury Brands. You can alos browse by industry sectors or geography.
An annual ranking and evaluation of the world's best marketing campaigns, agencies, and brands, based on their performance in effectiveness and strategy competitions.
Over 12,000 studies on effective advertising, easily searchable and broken down into themes such as sector, approach, and objective.
Seven modules to help you develop your skills, covering brand strategy, consumer insight, and campaign development.
Latest advertising expenditure from 90 global markets as well as comparisons of global media costs and adspend forecasts for 12 key countries. You can use prepared 'takeaway tables' or create your own with the 'build your own table' option.
This section will give you daily updated on key developments in brand strategy and marketing thought leadership as well as fresh research findings.
An easy way to find relevant information, pulling together content on subjects and brands. It also contains a guide that helps you through the process of setting up a new business plan.
The Mintel home screen has recently changed and no longer has the "Category Overview" menus which featured on the previous version. The best way to find reports on Mintel is to search by keyword from the home screen, then use the filters to narrow your results by sector, demographic etc. This Searching Mintel video, which is also embedded below, gives an introduction to searching on Mintel:
This is an introduction to TGI Snapshot from Johnston Business Library in Canada. The data set demonstrated is Canadian. Solent's subscription offers access to UK data only.
