Skip to main content

English

Newspapers introduction

Newspapers are excellent sources of information on current events and developments in politics, the economy, technology, culture and society, both in the UK and abroad:

  • UK Broadsheets are the ‘quality’ papers offering in-depth reporting of current issues of public concern.  These include The Daily Telegraph, The Financial Times, The Guardian, The Independent and The Times.
  • UK Tabloids are the ‘popular’ papers such as The Daily Mail, Daily Express, The Mirror and The Sun.

Use our subscription databases below to search a wide range of current and historical newspaper articles.

To check if we have a newspaper available electronically look for the Title in the Library Catalogue

Subscribed content

Key events in print

You may need to look at printed newspapers for particular projects. 

The Library keeps a collection of UK broadsheet and tabloid newspapers from significant events which can be used as examples.

These include:

  • 9/11 terrorism attacks
  • 2004 tsuanmi
  • 2005 London bombings
  • 2015 Paris terrorism attacks
  • Brexit Referendum
  • 2016 presidential election

There are also some older tabloids from 1973-2000 covering royal weddings and political scandals. 

Check the Library Catalogue for the Newspapers Events Collection.

These are in a special collection and access is by request from the desk in the Library foyer.

More options

Free online options

  • The Guardian provides free access to almost all of their online content, with only some premium material reserved for subscribers


Local Newspapers

The Southern Daily Echo is the local paper at www.dailyecho.co.uk and includes a searchable archive of selected articles back to 1999.

The University of Southampton has some local papers, but the best source for local newspaper research is Southampton City Library.  This has microfilm collections of a variety of local news sources, including a full back file of the Echo.


International Newspapers

Many international papers are freely available online.  Use onlinenewspapers.com to find the website of a particular newspaper.  Also try the Big Project for international news in English.


Historical Newspapers

If you need resources that are not covered by our Library subscriptions, try the British Library newspapers collections - both electronic and in print.  

News and Newspapers libguide

More Information on our printed and online collection of newspapers, plus a section about fake news