LibGuides: English: eResources

What are eResources?

database icon laptop and mobile phone eResources are electronic information resources which can be accessed online and searched by topic, so you can quickly and easily find relevant information.

eResources provide access to scholarly journal articles, company and industry information, statistics, market research, newspapers and more.

eResources are purchased by the Library to support you in your studies and allow 24/7 access to the latest high-quality information.

eResources for Literature

Literature Online
This is a key resource you should be using:

Literature Online This link opens in a new window
Leading resource for English literature including literary works, key criticism, author and reference resources.
Login: enter your university email and password.
Help guide
Basic contents

Find further academic articles in JSTOR:

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to 2800+ full text journals spanning more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences (or select to view reference details of further items covered by JSTOR). The most recent 1-5 years are not usually available. Also includes access to the Primary Source Collections which include 19th Century British Pamphlets, created by Research Libraries UK (RLUK), containing the most significant British pamphlets from the 19th century held in research libraries in the United Kingdom.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Help guide

Use this to find more journal articles:

Emerald Business, Management and Strategy This link opens in a new window
A collection of journals with articles on strategy, entrepreneurship, international business and emerging markets.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Use the filters on bottom right to restrict searches to only content I have access to. Many others titles are available on Emerald to which we do not subscribe.

Other useful eResources

Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
Access feature-length theatre productions, interviews with actors, directors and creatives and exclusive behind-the-scenes content, plus study guides.
Login:
- Enter your University email address and click Next.
- Enter Solent University as the Identity Provider Name and click on the link.
- Enter your University email address and password.
Please note, you will need to set up multi-factor authentication BEFORE using this resource. View how to set-up multi-factor authentication in a new tab. If you are having problems setting up your multi-factor authentication, please contact the Guided Learning Centre in a new tab.
Help guide Video support for students
Drama Online This link opens in a new window
Access performances, plays and supporting materials including live stage performances at the Globe Theatre (Globe on Screen), audio plays, scholarly works providing contextual and critical background plus practical guides.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Help videos
Performing Arts Periodicals Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Access 160 full text journals covering dance, drama, stagecraft, comedy, film, and television (with indexes and abstracts available for a further 200+ journals).
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Help guide
Help video
Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
Over 50,000 free literary titles in epub and kindle format to download or read online.
19th Century UK Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Content from the British Library's repository and others about events, lives, values and themes in the nineteenth century.
Login: enter your University email address and password

Newspapers

European Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full text news content from both the UK and Europe including UK broadsheets, tabloids and regional presses. More extensive international content can be accessed via International Newsstream and content specifically relating to North America can be accessed via US Newsstream listed under 'I' and 'U' from the tabs above.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Help video
Help guide
Gale Newsvault This link opens in a new window
Search The Times Digital Archive, The Financial Times Historical Archive, The 17th and 18th Century Burney Newspaper Collection and 19th Century British Newspapers.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Use the Help option for further information.

Market Research and Statistics

Mintel This link opens in a new window
Market research reports, trends and consumer data on a wide range of topics
Login: choose Solent University. Enter your University email address and password.
Help video
Help guide
Mintel's Top Tips and Interactive DataBook
Statista This link opens in a new window
A portal providing access to over one million statistics, facts, forecasts, dossiers, reports and infographics. Please note we do not have access to the Global Survey as this is a separate product and is not included in our subscription.
Login: enter your University email address and password
Help video

BoB/Learning on Screen

BoB National This link opens in a new window
Provides access to recorded TV and radio broadcasts to all the major channels.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Help guide

LinkedIn Learning

LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
High-quality instructional videos across a broad range of topics.
Login: select the Solent University SAML-DEV option (recommended for Solent University) and enter your University email address and password. Please note: You might need to set up multi-factor authentication to use this resource.

Dissertations and Theses

Undergraduate and Masters projects

If you wish to access good practice examples of final year projects, dissertations or Masters theses please contact your lecturer.

Doctoral theses

Ethos - Electronic Theses Online Service This link opens in a new window
British Library service which allows you to search and download theses from participating Universities free of charge.
Login: registration is required to download theses

English