LibGuides: Maritime: Databases (eResources)

What are eResources

Databases (or eResources) provide access to quality academic resources for your work.

Most provide an abstract summarising what the article is about - use this to see if you want to read the full text.
You will get the full text online for most results. If full text is not available, click on Is it @ Solent? to check the library catalogue for access via a different source.
If it is not available from another source, use the link on the Library Catalogue to request the article as an Inter Library Loan (please see Inter Library Loans for guidance and allowances)

Some resources in the list will provide access to other content such as standards, ebooks, market research and multimedia resources.

For TV recordings back to 2008, scroll down to BoB National

Regulatory Databases

Searchable databases for regulation texts such as SOLAS, MARPOL, Load Line conventions and other conventions, and codes such as ISM, ISPS, 2000 HSC Code, IBC Code, and much more.

IMO Vega Ebooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of maritime ebooks from the IMO Publishing Group providing access to the latest editions of:
- IAMSAR Manuals (volumes I, II and III)
- GMDSS, Ships’ Routeing (find within ‘Other Instruments’ section)
- SOLAS, MARPOL, Load Line and other conventions
- Maritime codes such as ISM, ISPS, 2000 HSC Code, IBC Code and much more.
Login: View login details in a new tab (you must log into Solent Online Learning and enrol on the passwords page and click on the tab "IMO Ebooks"). Up to 10 users at any one time can access IMO Ebooks
Regs4ships This link opens in a new window
A maritime compliance tool. It takes legislation and guidance from a number of national and international sources, providing this in an indexed, easy to navigate source.
Login: View login details in a new tab (you must log in to Solent Online Learning and enrol on the passwords page.)
Witherby Ebooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of maritime ebooks from the Witherby Publishing Group.
Login: View login details in a new tab (you must log in to Solent Online Learning and enrol on the passwords page and and click on the tab 'Witherby Ebooks').

eResources for Maritime

British Standards Online (BSOL) This link opens in a new window
Provides standards from the British Standards Institution (BSI), plus adopted European and international standards. Standards are in Adobe Acrobat (PDF) format.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Solent students and staff will be required to have the FileOpen plug-in installed on their personal device to download and print all BSI documents. Teaching and library PCs (excluding areas 22 and B1) have the software already installed. For personal devices you can download the software from the FileOpen website (link opens in a new tab). For more information and FAQs see BSI's documentation (link opens in a new tab).
Lloyd's List This link opens in a new window
Global shipping resource incorporating access to market data and directories.
Login: you are required to create an account.
Create your account in a new tab (you must log into Solent Online Learning and enrol on the passwords page and follow the instructions provided).
Lloyd's Register Rules and Regulations for the Classification of Naval Ships This link opens in a new window
This resource provides classification standards for the design, construction and lifetime maintenance of ships.
This resource is free. To download, select from Rules and Regulations. Fill-in the form, you will be emailed the document to download.
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
Full-text academic journal articles, market research reports, trade publications, newspapers and e-books on a wide variety of topics.
Login off campus: enter your university email address and password.
Help guide
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Access subscribed full text journals for subjects including computer science, engineering and technology, psychology, business, biomedical science and social science. Also includes full text access to the Referex collection of ebooks in engineering. Please note that book chapters in other subject areas may not be available in full text.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Help guide
Taylor and Francis Online This link opens in a new window
Full text access to our subscribed journals in social sciences, sports sciences, tourism studies and more.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
TradeWinds This link opens in a new window
Global shipping resource proving business news and insight.
Login: you are required to create an account.
Create your account in a new tab (you must log into Solent Online Learning and enrol on the passwords page and follow the instructions provided).
Shipping Intelligence Network This link opens in a new window
Shipping Intelligence Network, also called Clarksons, provides an analysis of intelligence data on all aspect of global shipping.
•Not yet registered? Or you need to re-register your account at the start of the academic year? Register now. You need to register (tick the box under Shipping Intelligence Network on the registration page) using your @solent.ac.uk email address. Your password needs to be a unique SIN password that is at least 11 characters long. You will be sent a confirmation email (check your junk email box if not showing). You must use the link you are sent to verify your account and gain access. To register open link in a new tab.
•Already registered? Please access the Shipping Intelligence Network website in a new tab

eResources for Marine Engineering

British Standards Online (BSOL) This link opens in a new window
Provides standards from the British Standards Institution (BSI), plus adopted European and international standards. Standards are in Adobe Acrobat (PDF) format.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Solent students and staff will be required to have the FileOpen plug-in installed on their personal device to download and print all BSI documents. Teaching and library PCs (excluding areas 22 and B1) have the software already installed. For personal devices you can download the software from the FileOpen website (link opens in a new tab). For more information and FAQs see BSI's documentation (link opens in a new tab).
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to our subscribed content including high quality literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
Login: enter your University email address and password.

Help guide
Lloyd's List This link opens in a new window
Global shipping resource incorporating access to market data and directories.
Login: you are required to create an account.
Create your account in a new tab (you must log into Solent Online Learning and enrol on the passwords page and follow the instructions provided).
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
Full-text academic journal articles, market research reports, trade publications, newspapers and e-books on a wide variety of topics.
Login off campus: enter your university email address and password.
Help guide
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Access subscribed full text journals for subjects including computer science, engineering and technology, psychology, business, biomedical science and social science. Also includes full text access to the Referex collection of ebooks in engineering. Please note that book chapters in other subject areas may not be available in full text.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Help guide
TradeWinds This link opens in a new window
Global shipping resource proving business news and insight.
Login: you are required to create an account.
Create your account in a new tab (you must log into Solent Online Learning and enrol on the passwords page and follow the instructions provided).

eResources for Maritime Law

i-law This link opens in a new window
Maritime legal materials including key reference books and journals and cases from the Lloyds Law Reports.
Login: you are required to create an account.
Create your account in a new tab (you must log into Solent Online Learning and enrol on the passwords page and follow the instructions provided).
Solent's Help video
i-law's Maritime guide
Lexis+ UK This link opens in a new window
Access UK cases, legislation and legal journals as well as national and regional newspapers and legal materials from countries across the world. Includes both Lexis PSL with practical guidance written by solicitors and barristers on legal topics as well as forms, checklists and precedents, and content from Lexis Accountancy Lite including Tolley's Tax Handbooks Series, the Yellow and Orange Tax Guides, Simon's Taxes, Tax Journal, and the Finance Acts.
Login: enter your University email address and password
Lexis+ Help guide and short videos
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Access a wide range of legal materials including UK cases and updated legislation, legal journals, books and dictionaries.
Login: Enter your university email address and password. Users must enter their details the first time they use Westlaw after logging in. This creates a separate Westlaw account so you can use the personalisation features of the site.
An Introduction to Westlaw UK
Solent's Help video

Further eResources

BoB National This link opens in a new window
Provides access to recorded TV and radio broadcasts to all the major channels.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Help guide
Statista This link opens in a new window
A portal providing access to over one million statistics, facts, forecasts, dossiers, reports and infographics. Please note we do not have access to the Global Survey as this is a separate product and is not included in our subscription.
Login: enter your University email address and password
Help video

LinkedIn Learning

LinkedIn Learning is part of the LinkedIn network. It is a website packed full of videos, tutorials and fully-curated courses taught by recognised industry experts offering high-quality instructional videos across a broad range of topics.

Maritime