Warsash Maritime

• IMarEST browse and download all the latest IMarEST-produced guides, publications and reports from across the breadth of marine engineering, science and technology.
• International Maritime Organisation Information on safe, secure and efficient shipping on clean oceans.
• MAIB safety digests Department for Transport Marine Accident Investigation Branch (MAIB) detailing lessons from marine accident reports.
• MAIB Annual Reports Department for Transport Marine Accident Investigation Branch (MAIB)
• Merchant Shipping Notices and Statutory Instruments MSNs are a complete reference collection of current notices; these include regulations for merchant seaman issued by the Maritime and Coastguard Agency Statutory instruments are a collection relating to Merchant Shipping.
• OCEAN: Human-Centred Innovation provides access to seven free maritime training videos developed to address the gaps in Maritime Education and Training (MET) standards.  From the downloads tab you can access reports.
• Review of Maritime Transport each report provides an analysis of structural and cyclical changes affecting seaborne trade, ports and shipping as well as an extensive collection of statistical information.
• UK Chamber of Shipping Work closely with Government, Parliament, policy makers and other parties to gain recognition of shipping’s contribution to the UK economy and employment.
• Wärtsilä Encyclopedia of Marine Technology - This online publication provides definitions to the current terminology used in the marine industry’s technical vocabulary. To access; select Download PDF and complete the online form.  

Google Searching Tips

There are some tips you can use to improve the results. 

Look through all the results - the top one might not be the best for your research although Google will try to give you the most relevant one first there are many other factors to be taken into account. 

See Google's help pages.

Google Scholar Search Tips
 

Google Scholar is a search engine that allows you to search for more academic content on the web.  You can use it to track down journal articles, book details and more.  You can set it up to show you which results you can access via a Solent University library subscription.
 

Link to full text content from Solent University Library

This will tell you if the Library has a copy of the article for you to read or not.  To set this up on your device:

• In Scholar, click on the menu icon in the top left corner:  

• Select Settings and then select 'Library Links'.  Enter 'Solent' in the search box then select Southampton Solent University - Is it @ Solent' and Save. 

• Any results available via Solent will now show the 'Is it @ Solent' link to give you access ​to our library holdings

• OFF CAMPUS: You must check the access information for each article via the Full Text @ SSU screens and login to view. 

Send reference details to RefWorks

Set up a link to 'Import into RefWorks' for each result in your list.  To set this up, go into the  menu icon, select Settings and in the 'Bibliography Manager' section, select RefWorks and save.
 

Basic and Advanced search

Enter your search terms into the Basic search box.  If you want more control over your search, you can access the Advanced search via the  menu icon.
 

Results list

Your results list will include a number of options for each result where you can view other items that might be of interest, mark the item to read later and send the reference to RefWorks etc.

• Select the star  to add the article to your 'My library'.
• Cited by: links you to other resources which have referenced (cited) that document.
• Related articles: see a list of other articles you may be interested in.
• Import into RefWorks: send the reference details into RefWorks (or use the option under the citation icon  to send to RefWorks).
   

My Library

Sign in and access articles you have saved.  Save articles by clicking on the star icon beside it in the results list.