LibGuides: Warsash Maritime: Marine Engineering Resources

eResources for Marine Engineering

British Standards Online (BSOL) This link opens in a new window
Provides standards from the British Standards Institution (BSI), plus adopted European and international standards. Standards are in Adobe Acrobat (PDF) format.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Solent students and staff will be required to have the FileOpen plug-in installed on their personal device to download and print all BSI documents. Teaching and library PCs (excluding areas 22 and B1) have the software already installed. For personal devices you can download the software from the FileOpen website (link opens in a new tab). For more information and FAQs see BSI's documentation (link opens in a new tab).
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to our subscribed content including high quality literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
Login: enter your University email address and password.

Help guide
Lloyd's List This link opens in a new window
Global shipping resource incorporating access to market data and directories.
Login: you are required to create an account.
Create your account in a new tab (you must log into Solent Online Learning and enrol on the passwords page and follow the instructions provided).
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
Full-text academic journal articles, market research reports, trade publications, newspapers and e-books on a wide variety of topics.
Login off campus: enter your university email address and password.
Help guide
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Access subscribed full text journals for subjects including computer science, engineering and technology, psychology, business, biomedical science and social science. Also includes full text access to the Referex collection of ebooks in engineering. Please note that book chapters in other subject areas may not be available in full text.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Help guide
TradeWinds This link opens in a new window
Global shipping resource proving business news and insight.
Login: you are required to create an account.
Create your account in a new tab (you must log into Solent Online Learning and enrol on the passwords page and follow the instructions provided).

Marine Engineering journal titles

Journal of naval architecture and marine engineering.
Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology. Department of Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering. Dhaka, Bangladesh : Dept. of Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering, Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology; Began with vol. 1, no. 1 (Dec. 2004).
Peer Reviewed, Available Online

International Journal of Coastal and Offshore Engineering
Iranian Association of Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering Iran, Islamic Republic of
Open Access, Available Online

Journal of marine science and engineering.
Basel, Switzerland : MDPI AG; Began with: Volume 1, Issue 1 (December 2013).
Peer Reviewed, Open Access, Available Online

Marine Engineering useful Websites

If you're looking for some relevant websites to support your studies some of these might be useful:

Royal Institution of Naval Architects (RINA) Internationally renowned institution involved in construction, design, maintenance and operation of marine vessels and structures

Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers (SNAME) Internationally recognised non-profit society serving the maritime and offshore industries and their suppliers.

UK Chamber of Shipping Trade association and voice of the UK shipping industry with more than 180 members from across the maritime sector.

IMarEST (Institute of Marine Engineering, Science and Technology) browse and download all the latest IMarEST-produced guides, publications and reports from across the breadth of marine engineering.