LibGuides: Construction & the Built Environment: Databases (eResources)

What are eResources?

Databases (or eResources) provide access to quality academic resources for your work.

Most provide an abstract summarising what the article is about - use this to see if you want to read the full text.
You will get the full text online for most results. If full text is not available, click on Is it @ Solent? to check the library catalogue for access via a different source.
If it is not available from another source, use the link on the Library Catalogue to request the article as an Inter Library Loan (please see Inter Library Loans for guidance and allowances)

Some resources in the list will provide access to other content such as standards, ebooks, market research and multimedia resources.

For TV recordings back to 2008, scroll down to BoB National.

eResources

Art and Architecture Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database covers a broad range of subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art to various areas of architecture and architectural design.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
BCIS Online This link opens in a new window
We have temporary off campus access to this resource.
Provides cost and pricing information for the construction industry. Includes analyses for building works, average prices for various building types and functions, tender price studies and dayworks rates.
Login : View login details in a new tab (you must log in to Solent Online Learning and enrol on the passwords page).
Help tutorial available via YouTube
British Standards Online (BSOL) This link opens in a new window
Provides standards from the British Standards Institution (BSI), plus adopted European and international standards. Standards are in Adobe Acrobat (PDF) format.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Solent students and staff will be required to have the FileOpen plug-in installed on their personal device to download and print all BSI documents. Teaching and library PCs (excluding areas 22 and B1) have the software already installed. For personal devices you can download the software from the FileOpen website (link opens in a new tab). For more information and FAQs see BSI's documentation (link opens in a new tab).
Building This link opens in a new window
The Building journal website. Provides access to reports, news, analysis and data on building and the construction industry.
Login: only accessible on campus - no login required.
Construction Information Service This link opens in a new window
Covers standards, regulations, advisory documents, and technical data relating to architecture, building services and civil engineering. Full-text documents such as Building Regulations Approved Documents, British Standards relating to construction and technical handbooks. Also Included is access to the Knowledge Workspace, which contains manufacturers technical catalogues, handbooks and guides, construction standards and legislative material.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Digimap - Ordnance Survey (OS) and Historic Collections This link opens in a new window
An online map and data delivery service, Operated by EDINA at the University of Edinburgh, Digimap’s Ordnance Survey (OS), and Historic Collections provide original and definitive service providing a full range of topographic Ordnance Survey data and maps of Great Britain.
Login: enter your University email address and password. Please note, on first sign-in you MUST complete the registration form and accept the licence terms for each collection. Details of how to register can be viewed in new tab.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to 2800+ full text journals spanning more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences (or select to view reference details of further items covered by JSTOR). The most recent 1-5 years are not usually available. Also includes access to the Primary Source Collections which include 19th Century British Pamphlets, created by Research Libraries UK (RLUK), containing the most significant British pamphlets from the 19th century held in research libraries in the United Kingdom.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Help guide
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Access subscribed full text journals for subjects including computer science, engineering and technology, psychology, business, biomedical science and social science. Also includes full text access to the Referex collection of ebooks in engineering. Please note that book chapters in other subject areas may not be available in full text.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Help guide
ProQuest All Subscribed Content This link opens in a new window
Searches across a large number of Proquest databases covering a range of subject areas.
Login off campus: enter your university email address and password.
Help guide

Newspapers

European Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full text news content from both the UK and Europe including UK broadsheets, tabloids and regional presses. More extensive international content can be accessed via International Newsstream and content specifically relating to North America can be accessed via US Newsstream listed under 'I' and 'U' from the tabs above.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Help video
Help guide
Gale Newsvault This link opens in a new window
Search The Times Digital Archive, The Financial Times Historical Archive, The 17th and 18th Century Burney Newspaper Collection and 19th Century British Newspapers.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Use the Help option for further information.

Market research

Mintel This link opens in a new window
Market research reports, trends and consumer data on a wide range of topics
Login: choose Solent University. Enter your University email address and password.
Help video
Help guide
Mintel's Top Tips and Interactive DataBook
Statista This link opens in a new window
A portal providing access to over one million statistics, facts, forecasts, dossiers, reports and infographics. Please note we do not have access to the Global Survey as this is a separate product and is not included in our subscription.
Login: enter your University email address and password
Help video

TV and radio

BoB National This link opens in a new window
Provides access to recorded TV and radio broadcasts to all the major channels.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Help guide

Databases (eResources): Test your knowledge?

Guided Learning Activity