LibGuides: Make-up, Hair and Beauty: Databases (eResources)

What are eResources?

Databases (or eResources) provide access to quality academic resources for your work.

Most provide an abstract summarising what the article is about - use this to see if you want to read the full text.
You will get the full text online for most results. If full text is not available, click on Is it @ Solent? to check the library catalogue for access via a different source.
If it is not available from another source, use the link on the Library Catalogue to request the article as an Inter Library Loan (please see Inter Library Loans for guidance and allowances)

Some resources in the list will provide access to other content such as standards, ebooks, market research and multimedia resources.

For TV recordings back to 2008, scroll down to BoB National.

eResources for Make-up and Beauty

Art and Architecture Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database covers a broad range of subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art to various areas of architecture and architectural design.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
Ebooks, images and museum exhibits; it includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion and is the collection that Solent University has access to on the Bloomsbury Fashion Central platform.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Creative Review This link opens in a new window
Provides analysis and advice on life in the creative industries, with a focus on insight, leadership, process and inspiration. Includes digital versions of every issue of Creative Review magazine ever published.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to 2800+ full text journals spanning more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences (or select to view reference details of further items covered by JSTOR). The most recent 1-5 years are not usually available. Also includes access to the Primary Source Collections which include 19th Century British Pamphlets, created by Research Libraries UK (RLUK), containing the most significant British pamphlets from the 19th century held in research libraries in the United Kingdom.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Help guide
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
A searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, covering international fashion and beauty.
Login: enter your university email address and password
Worth Global Style Network (WGSN – Access to Fashion and Beauty modules) This link opens in a new window
Online news and information service for the beauty, fashion and style industries. Over 250,000 pages of international beauty style intelligence including news, pictures from current and past catwalk shows, retail and trend analysis, street-style reports, and textile developments.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Please note, you will need to set up multi-factor authentication BEFORE using this resource. View how to set-up multi-factor authentication in a new tab. If you are having problems setting up your multi-factor authentication, please contact the Guided Learning Centre in a new tab.
Help guide use the User Guide for Universities link
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journal articles published by Wiley some full text articles are available for subscribed journal titles, most will just provide abstract details.
Login: enter your University email address and password.

Newspapers

European Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full text news content from both the UK and Europe including UK broadsheets, tabloids and regional presses. More extensive international content can be accessed via International Newsstream and content specifically relating to North America can be accessed via US Newsstream listed under 'I' and 'U' from the tabs above.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Help video
Help guide
Gale Newsvault This link opens in a new window
Search The Times Digital Archive, The Financial Times Historical Archive, The 17th and 18th Century Burney Newspaper Collection and 19th Century British Newspapers.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Use the Help option for further information.

Market research

Mintel This link opens in a new window
Market research reports, trends and consumer data on a wide range of topics
Login: choose Solent University. Enter your University email address and password.
Help video
Help guide
Mintel's Top Tips and Interactive DataBook
Statista This link opens in a new window
A portal providing access to over one million statistics, facts, forecasts, dossiers, reports and infographics. Please note we do not have access to the Global Survey as this is a separate product and is not included in our subscription.
Login: enter your University email address and password
Help video

TV and radio

BoB National This link opens in a new window
Provides access to recorded TV and radio broadcasts to all the major channels.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Help guide

LinkedIn Learning

LinkedIn Learning is part of the LinkedIn network. It is a website packed full of videos, tutorials and fully-curated courses taught by recognised industry experts offering high-quality instructional videos across a broad range of topics.

Make-up, Hair and Beauty