Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections

Use of materials from the special collections rooms

Overview

  • Students can request items from the Special Collections for reference use in the Library building only. 
  • Students can request up to 10 items at a time.
  • Items must be returned to the Library Help Desk by 18.00 on the day of use. 
  • Items will be retrieved from the Special Collections room by staff for use within the library building.  They will be held for collection for a week before being returned to the archive.
  • Copying of materials will be subject to applicable copyright restrictions.
  • Students are not permitted to access the Special Collections room to browse the collection.

How to request to use items in the Library

Students can request specific content from the Special Collections via an online request form (print forms are also available from the Library Help Desk). 

  • You will need to specify the title and publication date of the items required.
  • Library staff will retrieve the items from the Special Collections room for students to collect from the Library Help Desk. 
  • Requests via the online form will be fulfilled within 72 hours.  You will be emailed once items are available for collection and they will be held for a week.
  • Items must be returned to the Library Help Desk by 18.00 on the day of use.

Security and preservation of the Collections

Due to the fragility and uniqueness of many items in the collection, access is controlled to avoid damage or loss and to minimise the impact on the preservation of the Collections.

  • Students must treat fragile items with care and not eat or drink (other than bottled water) whilst working with Collection items.
  • By signing/submitting the request form you agree not to damage the material in any way.