Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections

Use of materials from the Special Collections room

Overview

  • Staff can request items from the Special Collections for reference use in the Library building only. 
  • Staff can request up to 20 items at a time.
  • Items must be returned to the Library Help Desk (Mountbatten Information Point) by 18.00 on the day of use. 
  • Items will be retrieved from the Special Collections room by staff for use within the library building.  They will be held for collection for a week before being returned to the archive.
  • Copying of materials will be subject to applicable copyright restrictions.

 

How to request to use items in the Library

Staff can request specific content from the Special Collections via an online request form (print forms are also available from the Library Help Desk). 

  • You will need to specify the title and publication date of the items required.
  • Library staff will retrieve the items from the Special Collections room for staff to collect from the Library Help Desk (Mountbatten Information Point). 
  • Requests via the online form will be fulfilled within 72 hours.  You will be emailed once items are available for collection and they will be held for a week.
  • Items must be returned to the Library Help Desk (Mountbatten Information Point) by 18.00 on the day of use.

 

Browsing the Collections

Staff can request access to the Special Collections room to browse the content by agreement with an Information Librarian.  Please see the section below ‘Security and preservation of the Collections’ for information regarding measures in place to minimise damage to the Collections.  Requests for access to the Collections should be submitted using the online enquiry form.

Security and preservation of the Collections

Due to the fragility and uniqueness of many items in the collection, access is controlled to avoid damage or loss and to minimise the impact on the preservation of the Collections.

Staff should request specific items to be retrieved from the Special Collections. 

If there is a need to browse within the Collection and permission is given by an Information Librarian, please note that food and drink cannot be taken into the room (except bottled water).