Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections

Requests to access or view content from the Special Collections

External visitors should contact the Library to discuss their specific needs.  Requests from external visitors to visit the Special Collections for research purposes will be considered on a case by case basis.  Please get in touch with details of your request via the online enquiry form

External visitors who are granted access for research purposes will be required to bring original, valid photographic ID (passport or driving licence) and proof of address.   Copies or photographs cannot be accepted.

You will be asked to sign into the Library upon arrival. 

Copying of materials will be subject to applicable copyright restrictions.

Security and preservation of the Collections

Due to the fragility and uniqueness of many items in the collection, access is controlled to avoid damage or loss and to minimise the impact on the preservation of the collections.  Please note that food and drink cannot be taken into the room (except bottled water). 

Inter Library Loan policy

Please note that due to the nature of the items in the Collection, they are not available to request through Inter Library Loans and are for reference use only within Solent Library.  If you wish to look at any items within the Collection, and you are not a member of Solent University, please contact the Library to discuss your needs.

Special Collections Enquiries