Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections

Special Collections @ Solent

​Solent University’s Special Collections comprises a number of separate collections that the University has received as donations, or acquired as teaching materials, and selected for preservation.  These collections ensure the ongoing availability of interesting and often unique resources that support the teaching, learning and research of Solent University staff and students and can support research interests within the wider community.

The Collections are:

  • Philip Mackie archive
  • Ken Russell archive
  • Consumer Culture Collection
  • Special events newspapers (relating to selected events in the late 20th/early 21st century)
  • Weekend newspaper supplements collection
  • Punch

This guide provides an overview of the content of these collections.

 

You can also view the access policies and procedures for Solent students, Solent staff and external visitors.

For general enquiries about the Special Collections please complete the enquiry form.

 

Requesting items for use in the Library

Solent students and staff can request that specific items are retrieved from the Special Collections room for reference use in the Library only.

Before requesting items from the collection, please read the relevant access policy.

Please identify the materials you wish to retrieve using the online request form.

 

location icon The Special Collections room is on the Lower Ground Floor of the Library.

Look inside the Special Collections

Ken Russell Archive 

Ken Russell Archive 

Philip Mackie Archive

Philip Mackie Archive

Consumer Culture Collection magazine examples

Consumer Culture Collection magazine examples:

Arena; Company; Cosmopolitan; Woman's Weekly; Vogue; Men's Health

Punch (bound volumes)

Punch (bound volumes)

Weekend newspaper supplements

Weekend newspaper supplements

Consumer Culture Collection

Consumer Culture Collection

Special Events newspapers

Special Events newspapers

Inter Library Loan policy

Please note that due to the nature of the items in the Collection, they are not available to request through Inter Library Loans and are for reference use only within Solent Library.  If you wish to look at any items within the Collection, and you are not a member of Solent University, please contact the Library to discuss your needs.

Special Collections Enquiries