LibGuides: Health Care Play Specialism: Databases (eResources)

Key Databases

CINAHL (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) database provides full text and abstract only access to content in the fields of nursing and related healthcare disciplines including occupational and physical therapy, nutrition, and dietetics.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Help video
Help video CINAHL headings
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Covers full-text artiles on biomedicine, pre-clinical sciences, behavioral sciences, bioengineering, health policy development and life sciences.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Help video
Help video MeSH headings
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Major source for biomedical and health literature. There are some freely available full-text resources others may require you check other library sources, including Google Scholar for article availability
Help Guide
Child Development & Adolescent Studies (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Current and historical literature related to the growth and development of children up to the age of 21.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Psychology Articles Combined - PsycArticles, PsycInfo and PBSC This link opens in a new window
Searches across all of the EBSCO psychology databases.
Login off campus: enter your University email address and password
NIHR Evidence This link opens in a new window
Provides plain language summaries of research findings that are funded by the National Institute for Health and Care Research (NIHR).The summaries are based on research papers that have already been peer-reviewed by medical and scientific experts.

Additional databases

The following databases and eResources are not directly linked with Health Care and Play but may contain useful information for your wider studies

Anatomy TV This link opens in a new window
Provides access to fully interactive 3D animations and models of the human body also includes clinical videos and texts.
Login: enter your University email address and password
A user's guide
Embedding into SOL Help guide and videos
Cochrane Library (Wiley) This link opens in a new window
Collection of databases containing high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Login:
- Click on Sign In from the top-right and then click on Institutional Login bottom-right of the pop-up window.
- Search for Solent University in the top search bar of the Institutional Login pop-up and click on Go.
- Enter your University email address and password.
Emerald Health and Social Care This link opens in a new window
A collection of journals with articles on healthcare and inequalities in healthcare provision, mental health, the ageing population, and the impact of crime on society.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Help video
Ethos - Electronic Theses Online Service This link opens in a new window
British Library service which allows you to search and download theses from participating Universities free of charge.
Login: registration is required to download theses
Europe PMC This link opens in a new window
An open science platform hosted by the European Molecular Biology Laboratory's European Bioinformatics Institute (EMBL-EBI) that enables access to a worldwide collection of life science publications and preprints from trusted sources around the globe in partnership with PubMed Central (PMC).
Statista This link opens in a new window
A portal providing access to over one million statistics, facts, forecasts, dossiers, reports and infographics. Please note we do not have access to the Global Survey as this is a separate product and is not included in our subscription.
Login: enter your University email address and password
Help video
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Access subscribed full text journals for subjects including computer science, engineering and technology, psychology, business, biomedical science and social science. Also includes full text access to the Referex collection of ebooks in engineering. Please note that book chapters in other subject areas may not be available in full text.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Help guide
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Provides access to citation indexes covering over 8000 top academic journals, including all references in the social sciences and humanities as well as the sciences.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Getting Started with Web of Science

Preprint Server

Preprint Server for Psychology. Remember these have may not been peer reviewed at this stage, but they are open access.

Cogprints - electronic archive for self-archived papers in any area of Psychology

PeerJ - life, biology, medicine, and environmental sciences

Preprints - Multidisciplinary

PsycArXiv

Health Care Play Specialism

Key Databases

Additional databases

Preprint Server

Test your knowledge