LibGuides: QAHE courses: Computing resources

eJournals and databases

Ejournals publish the results of academic research. They provide you with more in-depth and up-to-date information.

To find ejournals, search the Solent Library Catalogue

Also look in the databases below.

Journal articles

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to high quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
OFF CAMPUS: click on Institutional Sign In link at top of screen then search for Solent University and enter your University email address and password.
Help guide
IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Provides free and open access to over 40 journals, covering a wide range of engineering and technology fields including electronics, networks, blockchain, digital technologies, image processing, signal processing, robotics, radar and navigation. IET conference papers can be accessed via IEEE Xplore.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full text access to journals and conference papers and more published by the ACM.
Login off campus: click on 'Sign In' then select 'Institutional login'. Locate Solent University then enter your university email address and password.
ProQuest Technology Collection This link opens in a new window
Identify journal articles, conference proceedings, technical reports, magazines and more relating to technology. Some content is available in full text.
Login off campus: enter your university email address and password.
Help guide
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Full text access to journal articles on a wide range of science-related topics.
Help guide
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
This database covers a broad range of subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art to various areas of architecture and architectural design.
Login off campus: A university email address and password is needed to access this resource.

See the A-Z Databases: Computing list for a full overview of eResources for Computing and Games.

Standards

British Standards Online (BSOL) This link opens in a new window
Provides standards from the British Standards Institution (BSI), plus adopted European and international standards. Standards are in Adobe Acrobat (PDF) format.
Login: enter your university email address and password. This service only allows 5 simultaneous users, therefore during peak demand you may be unable to login. Please try again later.
Solent students and staff will be required to have the FileOpen plug-in installed on their personal device to download and print all BSI documents. Teaching and library PCs (excluding areas 22 and B1) have the software already installed. For personal devices you can download FileOpen via open link in a new tab.
For more information and FAQs see open link in a new tab.

Newspapers

European Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspapers and newswires including UK broadsheets and tabloids, UK regional press and some international papers.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Help video
Help guide

QAHE resources

You can also access resources and support through QAHE:

Library portal - for guides, reading lists and contact details
Library Catalogue - printed textbooks (Birmingham, London and Manchester) and VLeBooks ebooks
Searching the Library Catalogue - guidance
VLebooks guide
Staff guide