Databases (or eResources) provide access to quality academic resources for your work.
Some resources in the list will provide access to other content such as standards, ebooks, market research and multimedia resources.
For TV recordings back to 2008, scroll down to BoB National.
Provides unlimited access to thousands of resources for English and the Performing Arts, covering award-winning productions, different genres, themes and forms. Includes video, written resources and a wealth of study materials.
To Log in, enter your University email address and click Next. Enter Solent University as the Identity Provider Name and click on the link. Enter your University email address and password.
Please note, you will need to set up multi-factor authentication multi-factor authentication before using this resource. If you are having problems setting up your multi-factor authentication, please contact the Guided Learning Centre.
Access performances, plays and supporting materials including live stage performances at the Globe Theatre (Globe on Screen), audio plays, scholarly works providing contextual and critical background plus practical guides.
To Log in, enter your University email address and password.
Please note, you will need to set up multi-factor authentication before using this resource. If you are having problems setting up your multi-factor authentication, please contact the Guided Learning Centre.
Drawing on 10 years of National Theatre Live broadcasts, alongside high-quality recordings never previously seen outside of the NT’s Archive, the collection includes 30 films including Comedies, 20th Century Classics and Modern Plays, Shakespeare plays, Literary adaptations, Greek Classics and World Historical Drama. Please note, this does not include access to the National Theatre Collection 2.
To Log in, enter your University email address and password.
Access the key journal for Musical Theatre to discover articles, reviews, criticism and debate around this subject.
Access 160 full text journals covering dance, drama, stagecraft, comedy, film, and television (with indexes and abstracts available for a further 200+ journals).
To Log in, enter your University email address and password.
Access to 2800+ full text journals spanning more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences (or select to view reference details of further items covered by JSTOR). The most recent 1-5 years are not usually available. Also includes access to the Primary Source Collections which include 19th Century British Pamphlets, created by Research Libraries UK (RLUK), containing the most significant British pamphlets from the 19th century held in research libraries in the United Kingdom.
To Log in, enter your University email address and password.
Full reprints of national drama critics' reviews of productions in and out of London. Includes cast lists and credits plus production photographs.
To Log in off campus, choose ‘Institutional Log in’, search for Solent University and enter your University email address and password.
The Stage provides news, reviews, interviews, advice and jobs for the UK performing arts and theatre industry.
A print copy of The Stage is available on floor 2B our issues go back to 2018. The library also has access online through the database ProQuest, through their archive collection The Stage (1880-1959) and access from 1995 to the recent issues via The Stage.
Leading resource for English literature including literary works, key criticism, author and reference resources.
To Log in, enter your university email and password.
Full text news content from both the UK and Europe including UK broadsheets, tabloids and regional presses. More extensive international content can be accessed via International Newsstream and content specifically relating to North America can be accessed via US Newsstream listed under 'I' and 'U' from the tabs above.
To Log in, enter your University email address and password.
Archival research resource of US and UK magazines providing access to primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000.
To Log in, enter your University email address and password.
For a full list of newspaper resources (including access to historical newspapers) please see the A-Z list of news resources.
Provides access to recorded TV and radio broadcasts to all the major channels.
To Log in, enter your University email address and password.
LinkedIn Learning is part of the LinkedIn network. It is a website packed full of videos, tutorials and fully-curated courses taught by recognised industry experts offering high-quality instructional videos across a broad range of topics.
You must be logged in to LinkedIn Learning via SOL to view this content; to login: