Some eResources just provide citation details and an abstract (a short summary) rather than the full article. You can use the abstract to decide if the full text is worth reading.
If you want to read the full text and it is not available:
to see if the article is available anywhere else in the Library
Restrict your searches to Full Text using the options provided
Set up Google Scholar library links (see Google Scholar tab).
Sometimes you will get quite a few results and you will need to pick out the most relevant.
Getting too many or too few results? Watch Simple Searching to find out how you can improve:
Literature Online (LION) is the leading resource for those studying literature in English. It combines over 355,000 literary works including poetry, prose, and drama from the 8th to the 21st century with a huge library of criticism and reference material. It provides easy to access to thousands of literary articles, essays, biographies, and encyclopaedia entries.
LION contains more than 17,000 author entries from over 100 nations. These includes links to criticism, journal articles, and additional citations, alongside reference materials, some full text works and extensive bibliography and biography details. You can search and browse by name, literary movement or period, nationality, and ethnicity.
This is a catalogue of over 355,000 full-text works divided into Drama, Poetry, and Prose, including many major works. The works are arranged into 14 easily searchable collections including English Poetry, American Drama 1714-1915, and Nineteenth Century Fiction.
You can search for first lines or keywords in a poem, plays by genre or playwright, or prose titles by author or literary movement. You can also easily check for variants in spelling, including Old English, to make searching easier.
You can search for over 400 journal titles for full-text materials written about an author and their works including journal articles, monographs, and dissertations. You can do this across all sources or limit to just ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature).
A collection of video and audio recording which includes poets reading their own works, links to poetry readings at The Poetry Archive, and a complete audio collection of the 38 plays of Shakespeare.
This is a useful section to get an overview or background of subjects, authors, and titles. Limit your search to major literary reference works including dictionaries, encyclopaedias, and glossaries. It also includes bibliographies, biographies, and other resources, which give an overview of an author and their texts such as Knowledge Notes Student Guides and Penguin Classics Introductions.
The Mintel home screen has recently changed and no longer has the "Category Overview" menus which featured on the previous version. The best way to find reports on Mintel is to search by keyword from the home screen, then use the filters to narrow your results by sector, demographic etc. This video gives an introduction to searching on Mintel:
Please ensure you log into SOL in order to view this video: log into SOL
