Databases (or eResources) provide access to quality academic resources for your work. The Finding Information tab will take you through the stages to find information efficiently and effectively.
The databases have been subdivided into sections to reflect their content.
Searches leading databases (ASSIA/NCJRS/IBSS/Sociology Abstracts) with access to many full-text articles.
To Log in off campus, enter your university email address and password.
This database covers literature related to research, policy and practice in criminal and juvenile justice and drug control. Search over 189,000 U.S. and international publications, including federal, state and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations and unpublished research.
To Log in , enter your University email address and password.
Provides access to research briefings produced by the House of Commons Library, the House of Lords Library and the Parliamentary Office of Science and Technology (POST). You can filter the research briefings by date, type, or one of 350 topics.
Provides access to citation indexes covering over 8000 top academic journals, including all references in the social sciences and humanities as well as the sciences.
To Log in, enter your University email address and password.
Full text articles from our subscribed journals in criminology, communications, social work and more...
To Log in, enter your university email address and password.
Searches across all of the EBSCO psychology databases.
To Log in off campus, enter your University email address and password.
Access a wide range of legal materials including UK cases and updated legislation, legal journals, books and dictionaries.
To Log in, enter your university email address and password. Users must enter their details the first time they use Westlaw after logging in. This creates a separate Westlaw account so you can use the personalisation features of the site.
Find legal journal articles from a wide range of international publications.
To Log in, enter your University email address and password.
Access UK cases, legislation and legal journals as well as national and regional newspapers and legal materials from countries across the world. Includes both Lexis PSL with practical guidance written by solicitors and barristers on legal topics as well as forms, checklists and precedents, and content from Lexis Accountancy Lite including Tolley's Tax Handbooks Series, the Yellow and Orange Tax Guides, Simon's Taxes, Tax Journal, and the Finance Acts.
To Log in, enter your University email address and password
A database providing access to over one million statistics, forecasts, dossiers, reports and infographics including data on business, technology, politics and society covering countries and regions around the world.
Please note the following:
You may also want to consult:
These resources may have information useful for your work. They tend to contain reports, governmental and research institutions, they are good quality
Educational policy, administration, evaluation and special educational needs.
To Log in, enter your University email address and password.
The Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) contains articles, books, papers, reports, dissertations and theses in the field of education research.
To Log in, enter your University email address and password.
Full text access to our subscribed journals in social sciences, sports sciences, tourism studies and more.
To Log in, enter your University email address and password.
Full text news content from both the UK and Europe including UK broadsheets, tabloids and regional presses. More extensive international content can be accessed via International Newsstream and content specifically relating to North America can be accessed via US Newsstream listed under 'I' and 'U' from the tabs above.
To Log in, enter your University email address and password.
Search The Times Digital Archive, The Financial Times Historical Archive, The 17th and 18th Century Burney Newspaper Collection and 19th Century British Newspapers.
To Log in, enter your University email address and password.
SocArXiv Open archive of the social sciences. Papers are moderated before appearing on this site
Grey literature is the term given to publications produced by government departments, charities, business, industries, etc in short anything that is not produced commercially. It is a great source of authoritative information on quite narrow areas of research. Be careful and apply the normal criteria in establishing the reliability of the publication before you use it.
Many of the databases/eResources also have grey literature included on them.
If the library does not have the article you need you can request an inter-library loan. A copy of the article will in most cases be emailed to you within a 2-3 working days. Books can also be requested via inter-library loan, but will take longer to arrive as they have to be posted.
If you need more, please contact your Information Librarian.