Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Criminology

Policing resources


A key resource is the Home Office policing policy which includes the PACE codes and statistics.

For resources about Stephen Lawrence or policing and ethnicity, search the Library Catalogue for police racism or police ethnic minorities

Useful Reports:

Deaths in Custody:

Police Associations:


Key topics

There are lots of resources in this area but do be aware that many provide 'alternative' views - make sure you evaluate any of the resources you use for their academic content, authority and reliability.

Useful websites and statistics


Websites by topic:

Drugs and Drug Policies in the UK

DrugScope was one of the UK's leading centres of expertise on drugs. It produced many reports on UK drug policy. Unfortunately, due to funding issues, it ceased in March 2015 but there is a new site called DrugWise now available. The DS Dailycurrent awareness service is also still active so sign up for recent updates.

The UKDPC was an independent body which analysed UK drug policy between 2007 and 2012. Their final report is also available: A Fresh Approach to Drugs: the final report of the UK Drug Policy Commission

The UK Focal Point on Drugs provides information to the European Monitoring Centre for Drugs and Drug Addiction (EMCDDA) regarding the drug situation in England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales. It includes their annual and EMCDDA's reports.

This site provides information on drug use in Scotland, but also contains information which is of general internet. This content was previously hosted on the now The Drug Misuse Information Scotland website.

The NTA is a Special Health Authority, established by the Government in 2001 to increase the availability, capacity and effectiveness of drug treatment in England.

The alliance is made up of drug addiction treatment professionals, drugs workers, drugs researchers, drug user self-help organizations and other parties interested in a public health approach to drugs policy.

  • Transform Drug Policy Foundation This is the website of the TDPF who aim to minimise drug-related harm to individuals by introducing a fair and effective system for regulating and controlling drugs at a national and international level.
  • Talking Drugs - worldwide articles

 


Alcohol in the UK

The aim of the Institute is to increase knowledge of alcohol and the social and health consequences of its misuse. Their website includes the text of their news releases, the magazine Alcohol Alert, factsheets etc. as well as information about the Institute and extensive links to related sites around the world. Also contains government papers and reports, including the National Alcohol Harm Reduction Strategy

Alcohol Concern is the national voluntary agency on alcohol misuse. The web site includes information about their work and an Information Service offering online factsheets e.g. Alcopops and a searchable database of journal articles etc on alcohol related issues.

Aims to promote the sensible use of alcohol and looks at social responsibility issues.

Represents the UK beer and pub sector - useful information is available under Statistics


Europe

The EMCDDA website contains reports, news, publications and other useful information on the state of the drugs problem in the European Union.

The ELDD contains searchable European drugs-related legislation. It covers the 27 Member states and Norway, and includes legal texts, country profiles and reports.

Dutch Trimbos Institute website - contains information and statistics on alcohol and drugs in the Netherlands and worldwide.

 

United States

The White House Office of National Drug Control Policy (ONDCP), a component of the Executive Office of the President, purpose is to establish policies, priorities, and objectives for the Nation's drug control program. The goals of the program are to reduce illicit drug use, manufacturing, and trafficking, drug-related crime and violence, and drug-related health consequences. Its site includes news, publications, information and links concerned with America's 'War on drugs'.

The Drug Policy Alliance (formerly The Lindesmith Center) is a drug policy institute based in the US which aims to broaden and better inform the public debate on drug policy and related issues. The guiding principle of the center is harm reduction, an alternative approach to drug policy and treatment that focuses on minimizing the adverse effects of both drug use and drug prohibition. Their online library includes hundreds of full text documents on drugs and drug policy.

US organisation for reform of America's 'War on Drugs', includes a large library of texts on drug policy, 'The Drugs Library', found under Resources.

The National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), the principal biomedical and behavioral research agency of the U.S. Government.


The World

Online documents and data including Global Illicit Drug Trends and World Drug Report; reports on human trafficking, terrorism, corruption, organized crime and more.

 


Modern Slavery:

Government Collection of resources on Modern Slavery

Modern Slavery Statistics 

 

Child Trafficking:

NSPCC - resources on child trafficking and modern slavery

Every Child Protected against Trafficking - reports and guidance

 

County Lines: 

County Lines - Exploitation

National Youth Agency