Criminology

General politics books are in the 320s with parliament and government in the 350s 

Both sections are found on Floor 1A.

These are not located with the Law and Criminology titles on Floor 0A, so you will need to use the Library Catalogue to locate what you need. 

Search these eResources to find academic journal articles relating to politics:

The most time-efficient way to search the UK Parliament and GOV.UK sites is to use Google's site: search (e.g. site:parliament.uk cabinet "prime minister"). 

Other useful sites include:

• UK Government Web Archive
  National Archives' selection of previous government websites and digital information
   

• The Electoral Commission
  Independent body responsible for registration of political parties, funding and election standards
   
• For local government information try the Local Government Association, Local Government Information Unit (LGiU) and the New Local Government Network (NLGN)
  
  
• Margaret Thatcher Foundation - History site which provides documents relating to the Thatcher period.
   
• The National Archives - The Cabinet Papers 1915-1981

Parliament plays a vital role in ensuring that the Government remains accountable by:

Includes all parliamentary publications including Bills and related documents, Commons and Lords Hansard (debates), Weekly Information Bulletin, Committee and Research publications.

• You can also view archive versions.  
• Get involved with parliament online and stay up-to-date with via alerts and social media.
• Access reports, research papers and more under Parliamentary business and then Publications & records.
• Use Bills & legislation for legal documents
• Try About Parliament for useful general information
• Making Laws explains how Bills become Acts and the process involved

Government Publications 

Includes all Government Command Papers and other key documents from 2005 onwards. 
Filter documents using the options on the left.

For older publications, try the University of Southampton's archives: 

• British Parliamentary Publications 
• British Non-Parliamentary Publications
• More information on their collections

Hansard is the official record of what has been said in both Houses of Parliament. As such it carries a "substantially verbatim" report of proceedings.  It includes records of debates, votes, and written statements in both the House of Commons and the House of Lords.

House of Commons Official Report (Hansard) from 1988 - www.publications.parliament.uk/pa/cm/cmhansrd.htm

House of Lords Official Report (Hansard) from 1995 - http://www.publications.parliament.uk/pa/ld/lords_hansard_by_date.htm

Hansard 1803-2005: This Hansard corpus contains nearly every speech given in the British Parliament from 1803-2005. Comprehensive text searches for speeches prior to 2005 (e.g. tracking how often a word appears) can be carried out using Hansard Corpus (Please note you will need to register for a free account) - https://www.clarin.ac.uk/hansard-corpus

Parliament produces excellent and up-to-date research on a range of topics and policy areas.  These sites are well worth a look.  

• Search Parliamentary Materials - use Search Parliamentary Material to find publications and records of parliamentary business
• House of Commons Data Tools and Resources  - Constituency and local area data, including health, housing, work and incomes data
• Constituency Dashboard - key data by constituency

Subscribe for email alerts for latest research and information.  You can select your areas of interest.

• Subscribe to House of Commons Research 
• Subscribe to House of Lords Research