Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Psychology

Databases (eResources) - Introduction

Databases  (or eResources) provide access to quality academic resources for your work.  The Finding Information tab will take you through the stages to find information efficiently and effectively.  

The databases have been subdivided into sections to reflect their content.  

 

Key Databases

Additional Databases

Preprint Server

Preprint Server for PsychologyRemember these have may not been peer reviewed at this stage, but they are open access.

Cogprints - electronic archive for self-archived papers in any area of Psychology

PeerJ life, biology, medicine, and environmental sciences

Preprints  - Multidisciplinary

PsycArXiv 

Grey Literature

What is "grey Literature"?

Grey literature is the term given to publications produced by government departments,  charities, business, industries, etc in short anything that is not produced commercially.   It is a great source of authoritative information on quite narrow areas of research.  Be careful and apply the normal criteria in establishing the reliability of the publication before you use it.  

Many of the databases/eResources also have grey literature included on them.

Where to find grey literature

Ethos PhDs held in the British Library, great source of research

GreyNet - provides links to sources of information

Social Science Research Network  (SSRN) - papers, research, conference papers, etc

 

 

Education

Not in the Libary? - Inter-Library Loans

If the library does not have the article you need you can request an inter-library loan.  A copy of the article will in most cases be emailed to you within a 2-3 working days.  Books can also be requested via inter-library loan, but will take longer to arrive as they have to be posted.

 

  • All undergraduate students can request 15 inter-library loans per year
  • All postgraduates and staff can request 30 inter-library loans.

If you need more, please contact me. 

Inter-Library Loan Request form

Test your knowledge