Databases (or eResources) provide access to quality academic resources for your work.
Some resources in the list will provide access to other content such as standards, ebooks, market research and multimedia resources.
For TV recordings back to 2008, scroll down to BoB National.
Provides standards from the British Standards Institution (BSI), plus adopted European and international standards. Standards are in Adobe Acrobat (PDF) format.
To Log in, enter your University email address and password.
Solent students and staff will be required to have the FileOpen plug-in installed on their personal device to download and print all BSI documents. Teaching and library PCs (excluding areas 22 and B1) have the software already installed. For personal devices you can download the software from the FileOpen website. For more information and FAQs see BSI's documentation.
Please note, there has recently been an update to Adobe on University PCs which may affect access to BSI standards. If you are prompted to log into Adobe, please do so using your University email address. You should try to access the standard again after around a minute. If this does not work, you may need to log out of the PC and back in again in order to open the standard. You may also need to repeat the process if you try to open the standard on the same PC in a different session or if you use a different University PC.
Provides full text access to our subscribed content including high quality literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
To Log in, enter your University email address and password.
Global shipping resource incorporating access to market data and directories.
To Log in, you are required to create an account in SOL. You must log in to Solent Online Learning and enrol on the passwords page.
Full-text academic journal articles, market research reports, trade publications, newspapers and e-books on a wide variety of topics.
To Log in off campus, enter your university email address and password.
Access subscribed full text journals for subjects including computer science, engineering and technology, psychology, business, biomedical science and social science. Also includes full text access to the Referex collection of ebooks in engineering. Please note that book chapters in other subject areas may not be available in full text.
To Log in, enter your University email address and password.
Global shipping resource proving business news and insight.
To Log in, enter your University email address and password.
Please note, you will need to set up multi-factor authentication before using this resource. If you are having problems setting up your multi-factor authentication, please contact the Guided Learning Centre.
Full text news content from both the UK and Europe including UK broadsheets, tabloids and regional presses. More extensive international content can be accessed via International Newsstream and content specifically relating to North America can be accessed via US Newsstream listed under 'I' and 'U' from the tabs above.
To Log in, enter your University email address and password.
Search The Times Digital Archive, The Financial Times Historical Archive, The 17th and 18th Century Burney Newspaper Collection and 19th Century British Newspapers.
To Log in, enter your University email address and password.
Provides access to recorded TV and radio broadcasts to all the major channels.
To Log in, enter your University email address and password.
LinkedIn Learning is part of the LinkedIn network. It is a website packed full of videos, tutorials and fully-curated courses taught by recognised industry experts offering high-quality instructional videos across a broad range of topics.
You must be logged in to LinkedIn Learning via SOL to view this content; to login: