LibGuides: Engineering: Databases (eResources)

What are the eResources?

Search these eResources (databases) to locate journal articles and other useful material for your studies.

Most provide an abstract summarising what the article is about - use this to see if you want to read the full text.
You will get the full text online for most results. If full text is not available, click on to check the library catalogue for access via a different source.
If it is not available from another source, use the link on the Library Catalogue to request the article as an Inter Library Loan (please see Inter Library Loans for guidance and allowances)

Some resources in the list will provide access to other content such as standards, ebooks, market research and multimedia resources.

For TV recordings back to 2008, scroll down to BoB National.

eResources for Engineering

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full text access to journals, magazines and conference papers published by the Association for Computing Machinery. Please note: books, theses and technical reports are not generally accessible except for abstracts and citations - see the ACM Guide to Computing Literature.
Login: Click on 'Sign in' from the top-right and then click on 'Institutional Login'. Click Select Your Institution and search for Solent University. Click on the link and enter your University email address and password.
British Standards Online (BSOL) This link opens in a new window
Provides standards from the British Standards Institution (BSI), plus adopted European and international standards. Standards are in Adobe Acrobat (PDF) format.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Solent students and staff will be required to have the FileOpen plug-in installed on their personal device to download and print all BSI documents. Teaching and library PCs (excluding areas 22 and B1) have the software already installed. For personal devices you can download the software from the FileOpen website (link opens in a new tab). For more information and FAQs see BSI's documentation (link opens in a new tab).
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to our subscribed content including high quality literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
Login: enter your University email address and password.

Help guide
IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Provides free and open access to over 40 journals, covering a wide range of engineering and technology fields including electronics, networks, blockchain, digital technologies, image processing, signal processing, robotics, radar and navigation. IET conference papers can be accessed via IEEE Xplore.
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
Full-text academic journal articles, market research reports, trade publications, newspapers and e-books on a wide variety of topics.
Login off campus: enter your university email address and password.
Help guide
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Access subscribed full text journals for subjects including computer science, engineering and technology, psychology, business, biomedical science and social science. Also includes full text access to the Referex collection of ebooks in engineering. Please note that book chapters in other subject areas may not be available in full text.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Help guide

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Provides access to citation indexes covering over 8000 top academic journals, including all references in the social sciences and humanities as well as the sciences.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Getting Started with Web of Science
Digimap - Ordnance Survey (OS) and Historic Collections This link opens in a new window
An online map and data delivery service, Operated by EDINA at the University of Edinburgh, Digimap’s Ordnance Survey (OS), and Historic Collections provide original and definitive service providing a full range of topographic Ordnance Survey data and maps of Great Britain.
Login: enter your University email address and password. Please note, on first sign-in you MUST complete the registration form and accept the licence terms for each collection. Details of how to register can be viewed in new tab.

Newspapers

European Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full text news content from both the UK and Europe including UK broadsheets, tabloids and regional presses. More extensive international content can be accessed via International Newsstream and content specifically relating to North America can be accessed via US Newsstream listed under 'I' and 'U' from the tabs above.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Help video
Help guide

Further eResources

BoB National This link opens in a new window
Provides access to recorded TV and radio broadcasts to all the major channels.
Login: enter your University email address and password.
Help guide
Mintel This link opens in a new window
Market research reports, trends and consumer data on a wide range of topics
Login: choose Solent University. Enter your University email address and password.
Help video
Help guide
Mintel's Top Tips and Interactive DataBook
Statista This link opens in a new window
A portal providing access to over one million statistics, facts, forecasts, dossiers, reports and infographics. Please note we do not have access to the Global Survey as this is a separate product and is not included in our subscription.
Login: enter your University email address and password
Help video

LinkedIn Learning

LinkedIn Learning is part of the LinkedIn network. It is a website packed full of videos, tutorials and fully-curated courses taught by recognised industry experts offering high-quality instructional videos across a broad range of topics.

Engineering

What are the eResources?

eResources for Engineering

Newspapers

Further eResources

LinkedIn Learning

Databases (eResources): Test your knowledge?