Research Professional is an online database of research funding opportunities and a source of international research policy and practice news. All Solent staff and students are free to browse the content of the site, create customised searches of its content and share this information with colleagues.
Research News and Funding
News and Funding: The two main collections of content you have access to in Research Professional is their News content, containing international news on research policy and practice created by their own editorial teams, and Funding, a searchable database of open research funding opportunities.
Funding Insight: Funding Insight is a collection of additional news and data aimed at helping researchers decide which opportunities to apply for, and to help you make stronger applications. As an institutional subscriber to Funding Insight, you will find a wealth of additional information on the Funding pages in Research Professional, and you will also have access to the Awards section, where you can search for information on previous award winners.
Features of Research Professional
- Comprehensive database of funding opportunities.
- Search by a variety of criteria including: Sponsor; Discipline; Award Type; Closing Date.
- Get up to date Funding and Sector news including: Research Fortnight; Research Europe.
- Workgroup funding opportunities specific to you and your schools.
- Set-up e-mail alerts for funding opportunities and/or research news.
- Awards – search previous successful applicants to the Research Councils, Wellcome Trust and Leverhulme.
- Know How - Guidance on developing winning proposals from leading PIs and managers.
Getting started
See the 'Getting started' guide and tutorials by Research Professional, or email your Research Support Librarian. The University is a networked subscriber: this provides additional tools for individual users.
Access
- Campus Access – a quick and easy route to Research Professional’s database without the need to register. However, the features are limited. You are unable to save searches but you can e-mail any search results to yourself or anyone who you think may be interested.
- Self-registration – set up e-mail alerts and save funding searches, which will automatically update. Your Research Support Librarian can help with registration and setting up personalised funding searches.
