Skip to Main Content

OSCOLA (Law) Referencing Guide

OSCOLA Law referencing guidance

Webpages

OSCOLA states that where an online publication is also available in print, you do not need to indicate that you looked at the electronic version. However, it is important to provide a full reference for any electronic-only resources including all websites. Some electronic resources will not have page numbers or identifiable authors/dates. Try to include the following:

Author(s), ‘Webpage Title’ (website or additional information date) <URL> accessed date.

Where there is no author, begin your reference with the title.  If available, include additional information before the publisher.  Additional information can include document numbers or other relevant items to help identify the source:

Footnote examples:

Lord Bingham, ‘Keynote Address’ (Liberty conference, London, 6 June 2009) accessed 19 November 2009.  

'Listening and asking questions – Parry' (The Judicial Office, 2016) <https://www.judiciary.uk/guidance-and-resources/listening-and-asking-questions-parry/> accessed 20 January 2016.

Bibliography format:

Author surname Initial, 'Title of website' (Title or additional information date) <URL> accessed date

Bibliography example:
Percival R, 'Does the UK Supreme Court have enough power?' (UK Supreme Court, 2 December 2016) <http://ukscblog.com/article-50-does-the-uk-supreme-court-have-enough-power/> accessed 24 January 2017

If there is no named person or organisation, you can begin your reference with the title of the webpage. Always consider whether an anonymous source is reliable before including it in academic work.

The only change in format between a footnote reference and a bibliography entry is no full stop at the end of the bibliography entry.

 

Podcast and YouTube Video

To create a reference to a Podcast and YouTube video, you need to include the Author (if unavailable, use organisation providing podcast) and the title in single speech marks, followed by the broadcast date in brackets, the URL and the access date.

Format: Author, 'Title' (broadcast date) <URl> accessed date

Example Podcast: 

Law Pod UK, 'Do the police owe potential victims a duty to warn?' (5 July 2023) <https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/do-the-police-owe-potential-victims-a-duty-to-warn/id1259360349?i=1000619341530> accessed 17 November 2023.

If referring to comments by someone in particular, add that information as you would a pinpoint, after the broadcast date. Include the person's position if relevant. For example:

Law Pod UK, 'Do the police owe potential victims a duty to warn?' (5 July 2023) comments by Conor Monighan, 5 Essex Court <https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/do-the-police-owe-potential-victims-a-duty-to-warn/id1259360349?i=1000619341530> accessed 17 November 2023.

You can also add the minutes and seconds of the relevant excerpt of the podcast or video to the reference to build a pinpoint. These would be added after the broadcast date.

Law Pod UK, 'Do the police owe potential victims a duty to warn?' (5 July 2023) 06:15-08:00 <https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/do-the-police-owe-potential-victims-a-duty-to-warn/id1259360349?i=1000619341530> accessed 17 November 2023.

Example YouTube:

Dr Douglas Guilfoyle, 'The UN Convention on the Law of the Sea: Origins and Importance' (14 August 2013) <www.youtube.com/watch?v=3SOqz1Yu8tY> accessed 15 April 2014.

Bibliography

There is no change in format between a footnote reference and a bibliography entry except that with the bibliography the last name comes first and no full stop at the end.

Blogs

To reference information from a blog, you should include the author's name, the entry title and then the blog name and publication date in brackets. You should end with the URL and accessed date.

Footnote format:

Author, 'Title of blog post' (Blog title, Date of post) <URL> accessed date.

Footnote example:

Richard Percival, 'Does the UK Supreme Court have enough power?' (UK Supreme Court, 2 December 2016) <http://ukscblog.com/article-50-does-the-uk-supreme-court-have-enough-power/> accessed 24 January 2017.

Bibliography format:

Author surname Initial, 'Title of blog post' (Blog title, Date of post) <URL> accessed date

Bibliography example:
Percival R, 'Does the UK Supreme Court have enough power?' (UK Supreme Court, 2 December 2016) <http://ukscblog.com/article-50-does-the-uk-supreme-court-have-enough-power/> accessed 24 January 2017

The only change in format between a footnote reference and a bibliography entry is no full stop at the end of the bibliography entry.