Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Loans

Reservation service

If all the copies of an item you need are on loan, you can sign into the library catalogue to place a reservation.  Placing a reservation stops the item being renewed automatically for other library users until a copy is returned and put aside for you.

Items can usually only be requested if all copies are on loan.  Part-time and distance learning students and library users with a disability can ask for available items to be put aside for them using the library's Book Collection Service (details of this can be found further down this page).

Placing a reservation

Use the library catalogue to search for the item.

When you are signed in, click on the 'request' link for the item you need (this will only show if all copies are on loan).

Click on 'send request' and a message will appear to let you know if your reservation was successful.

 

We will send an e-mail to your university e-mail address when the item is available. You can also check your account online via the library catalogue.  Sign in and click on 'library account' (top right of screen). The status of your reservation will change to 'on hold' once the book is available for collection.

 

Please be aware that items may take a little longer to be returned at the moment due to Covid.  If you have any queries about your request please let us know at library.loans@solent.ac.uk

 

Having difficulty?

 

If you are unable to place a reservation it could be due to one of the following reasons:

 

A copy of the book is showing as available on the catalogue

Items can only be reserved if all copies are on loan, even if you cannot find the book on the shelf.  If you need any help finding library material please ask a member of library staff for assistance.

Part-time and distance learning students or users with a disability can ask for available items to be put aside for them by using the library's Book Collection Service. Details of this can be found further down this page.

 
A copy of the item is already on loan to you

If an item you've borrowed has been requested, you will need to return it before placing a reservation yourself.

 
The library only has a reference copy of the item

Reference items are for use in the library only so cannot be reserved.

 

Book collection service

The book collection service is available for users with disabilities and for Solent students who are studying part-time or distance learning.

Up to 10 Items can be requested via our book collection service form or by sending an email to library.loans@solent.ac.uk

Collecting a reservation

When a requested item becomes available, you normally have seven days to collect it (the final collection date is included in the email we send you).

Reservations awaiting collection are located on shelves close to the help desk on the ground floor. They are shelved in campus card number order and will need to be issued using the self-service machines.

If you have any queries or no longer need a requested item please email library.loans@solent.ac.uk. You can also speak to a member of staff at the help desk for assistance.

 

You do not need to make a booking to collect an item that is on hold for you, but please remember to bring your campus card and a copy of the confirmation email.

Missing books

If you are unable to find a book in the library, please ask a member of staff for assistance. 

We can help you look for the item and check it's not on loan.  If it isn't found, you can leave your contact details with us while we continue to search on your behalf.  If we find the item we can put it aside for you, if not we may be able to place a reservation for you or consider replacing the item.  

Contact details

Loans Team

Room ML014

Mountbatten Library
Southampton Solent University
East Park Terrace
Southampton, SO14 0RJ